Author Topic: Honda Ridgeline  (Read 1705 times)

Offline haunted

• Irrepressibly Profuse Member
  • I am hollywood.
    • View Profile
  • Rated:
Honda Ridgeline
« on: April 22, 2020, 03:31:38 PM »
Has anyone owned one of these trucks or know someone who has? If so can you share any experience?

I am fairly informed about these vehicles. I know the downsides.... 1 crucial one is that they're not powerful. Literally poorly engineered which is why they get bad gas mileage (far worse than a Tacoma). It's a little bigger than a Tacoma with a smaller engine. People have bought them and use them for towing. If you hit the TINIEST hill then your tranny has to downshift 2 gears. The transmissions go out on them. If you don't tow then you're fine with that.

So I've been researching these things and shopping for 2 months straight, lol. I'll go into my thought process with how I kind of settled on this vehicle.

I'll start with saying that I own a 2004 Chevy Silverado, extended cab, 8ft long bed with the 5.3L v8, 4 wheel drive. That engine is wonderful and has an excellent reputation, I have 232,000 miles on it. I've kinda been a "Chevy guy" my whole life, although later I began to really like and respect Toyotas. My 97 Toyota Tacoma 17 years ago was a great truck. Toyotas and Hondas both have the big reputation for lasting forever overall, unless you have an exceptional engine like Chevy's 5.3.

That being said, this is my absolute dream truck:

https://www.carfax.com/vehicle/5TBBT58117S449827

To me that tundra is badass. Lasts forever everything I'm looking for. The problem is Toyota's reliability has caught on and the prices have inflated big time. That one is an ok deal though.

I travel a LOT. So I need something I can put miles on, but at the same time these are MUSTS for me:

1. Quad cab pick up
2. 4 wheel drive