Author Topic: Anticheat for Q2Pro - should I use it?  (Read 2701 times)

Offline beanz

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 74
  • bean$ - QII 1998 to 2002 - back June 2015
    • View Profile
  • Rated:
Anticheat for Q2Pro - should I use it?
« on: July 29, 2015, 06:02:05 AM »
Hi all,

There are a lot of threads about this whole anticheat area, but I've not managed to work out if it's worth using.  I downloaded it, but my virus checker sends it off to quarantine.  I'd rather not accept it and would prefer to just carry on playing Tastyspleen & ACME CTF servers.  There appears to be only one server that won't let me connect without it, anyway.  Also, I have no intention of cheating so it's not because of that ...  :razzberry:

Any thoughts?   :forceac:     bean$ :lol:
  • Insightful
    Informative
    Funny
    Nice Job / Good Work
    Rock On
    Flawless Logic
    Well-Reasoned Argument and/or Conclusion
    Demonstrates Exceptional Knowlege of the Game
    Appears Not to Comprehend Game Fundamentals
    Frag of the Week
    Frag Hall of Fame
    Jump of the Week
    Jump Hall of Fame
    Best Solution
    Wins The Internet
    Whoosh! You done missed the joke thar Cletus!
    Obvious Troll Is Obvious
    DO YOU EVEN LIFT?
    DEMO OR STFU
    Offtopic
    Flamebait
    Redundant
    Factually Challenged
    Preposterously Irrational Arguments
    Blindingly Obvious Logical Fallacies
    Absurd Misconstrual of Scientific Principles or Evidence
    Amazing Conspiracy Theory Bro
    Racist Ignoramus
Everything is going extremely well - HAL 9000

Offline QwazyWabbit

  • Carpal Tunnel Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 1275
    • View Profile
  • Rated:
Re: Anticheat for Q2Pro - should I use it?
« Reply #1 on: July 29, 2015, 04:44:23 PM »
Anticheat is not malware. It uses encryption and compression techniques to make it hack-resistant because cheaters would try to circumvent it if the code was open. Anti-malware software considers these techniques to be potential malware. You can safely tell your anti-virus software to allow Anticheat and pull it out of quarantine.
  • Insightful
    Informative
    Funny
    Nice Job / Good Work
    Rock On
    Flawless Logic
    Well-Reasoned Argument and/or Conclusion
    Demonstrates Exceptional Knowlege of the Game
    Appears Not to Comprehend Game Fundamentals
    Frag of the Week
    Frag Hall of Fame
    Jump of the Week
    Jump Hall of Fame
    Best Solution
    Wins The Internet
    Whoosh! You done missed the joke thar Cletus!
    Obvious Troll Is Obvious
    DO YOU EVEN LIFT?
    DEMO OR STFU
    Offtopic
    Flamebait
    Redundant
    Factually Challenged
    Preposterously Irrational Arguments
    Blindingly Obvious Logical Fallacies
    Absurd Misconstrual of Scientific Principles or Evidence
    Amazing Conspiracy Theory Bro
    Racist Ignoramus

Offline beanz

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 74
  • bean$ - QII 1998 to 2002 - back June 2015
    • View Profile
  • Rated:
Re: Anticheat for Q2Pro - should I use it?
« Reply #2 on: July 30, 2015, 04:08:38 AM »
OK thanks for the reply.  It's safe -   :thumbsup:  One thing though, is it worth using?  Seems most players don't - there are always ' >player< not using anticheat messages when players join.  Just a thought ...   bean$  :evilgrin:
  • Insightful
    Informative
    Funny
    Nice Job / Good Work
    Rock On
    Flawless Logic
    Well-Reasoned Argument and/or Conclusion
    Demonstrates Exceptional Knowlege of the Game
    Appears Not to Comprehend Game Fundamentals
    Frag of the Week
    Frag Hall of Fame
    Jump of the Week
    Jump Hall of Fame
    Best Solution
    Wins The Internet
    Whoosh! You done missed the joke thar Cletus!
    Obvious Troll Is Obvious
    DO YOU EVEN LIFT?
    DEMO OR STFU
    Offtopic
    Flamebait
    Redundant
    Factually Challenged
    Preposterously Irrational Arguments
    Blindingly Obvious Logical Fallacies
    Absurd Misconstrual of Scientific Principles or Evidence
    Amazing Conspiracy Theory Bro
    Racist Ignoramus
Everything is going extremely well - HAL 9000

Offline daffy

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
  • Rated:
Re: Anticheat for Q2Pro - should I use it?
« Reply #3 on: July 31, 2015, 05:10:19 AM »
Does Anticheat work on Win8 and 10?

Offline yahoo

  • Opulent Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2238
  • Quake II | Powered by SMF 1.0.9.
    • View Profile
  • Rated:
Re: Anticheat for Q2Pro - should I use it?
« Reply #4 on: August 01, 2015, 03:56:25 AM »
win8 I think no.
win10 no idea
  • Insightful
    Informative
    Funny
    Nice Job / Good Work
    Rock On
    Flawless Logic
    Well-Reasoned Argument and/or Conclusion
    Demonstrates Exceptional Knowlege of the Game
    Appears Not to Comprehend Game Fundamentals
    Frag of the Week
    Frag Hall of Fame
    Jump of the Week
    Jump Hall of Fame
    Best Solution
    Wins The Internet
    Whoosh! You done missed the joke thar Cletus!
    Obvious Troll Is Obvious
    DO YOU EVEN LIFT?
    DEMO OR STFU
    Offtopic
    Flamebait
    Redundant
    Factually Challenged
    Preposterously Irrational Arguments
    Blindingly Obvious Logical Fallacies
    Absurd Misconstrual of Scientific Principles or Evidence
    Amazing Conspiracy Theory Bro
    Racist Ignoramus
Quake II | Powered by SMF 1.0.9.
© 2001-2005, Lewis Media. All Rights Reserved.

 

El Box de Shoutamente

Last 10 Shouts:

 

|iR|Focalor

Today at 08:45:21 PM
ORANGE
MAN
BAD!

-Unh0ly-

Today at 11:36:11 AM
1 hour and 10 minutes til AI ENHANCED ORIG TEXTURE PAK is done uploading.. its all orig game textures , the ones from r1ch's pak i think .. AI enhanced with topaz gigapixel... stay tuned

Randy

March 30, 2020, 04:01:16 PM
Hello everyone 😈

RyU

March 29, 2020, 11:10:04 PM
hey who dem alias FUCKAS

-Unh0ly-

March 24, 2020, 05:42:49 PM
TEXTURE PAK UPDATE!!!!!

http://unh0ly.wordpress.com

Punk_FAS

March 23, 2020, 06:07:31 PM
That sucks... maybe (probably) that same person that loves to join the DM server with his script/bot (was going by equate last I saw).
 

Admin

March 23, 2020, 02:12:22 PM
Yes it's a DoS attack
 

Admin

March 23, 2020, 02:06:20 PM
Might be a Denial of Service attack of some sort. Something is making the DM server take 100% CPU. (Will investigate when I can, at work right now.) Restarting DM server didn't help.
 

Admin

March 23, 2020, 02:00:18 PM
How strange.

Show 50 latest
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
April 02, 2020, 09:50:05 PM

Login with username, password and session length