Author Topic: [A story] One byte  (Read 2033 times)

Offline Lohmatiy

• DI HALT / CLI HLT
    • View Profile
  • Rated:
[A story] One byte
« on: June 19, 2008, 10:24:48 AM »
One byte.

I needed only a byte. Just a single byte. Yup, yup. The very byte consisting of eight bits. What? No, I'm not nuts, but only the Lord knows how close I was to this state. Let's keep the order though.

I'm a coder. But not just a coder. I belong to the caste which is called low-level coders. Or chip programmers. Do you know what it is? I will explain it, if you're patient enough. I can't do it without the specifics, otherwise you wouldn't be able to understand the story.

We program single-chip systems, roughly speaking, computers on a single chip. Data storage and program memory are separated, and they don't interact with each other. A program can't be run in random-access memory. The size of callstack is limited. The maximum possible stack size I can use, is eight frames, and I can't modify the size. Oh, please don't think of something weird! I have a lot of resources. Even 128 bytes of RAM! For everything. Integers, strings, this and that. Have you imagined it? Program memory is quite large too. Eight kilobytes! And it's not hard at all to use it. You just need to select the correct memory chunk, execute the function you need, and return to the address you were before. And yes, within the range of memory chunk you can move using only jumps and procedure calls, and conditional jumps are possible only within the range of memory page, i.e. 256 bytes.