Author Topic: Trouble with Q2 server showing up on masterserver  (Read 2434 times)

Offline NPHarris

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
    • View Profile
  • Rated:
Trouble with Q2 server showing up on masterserver
« on: September 10, 2010, 02:41:03 PM »
Hey im hosting a dedicated server from time to time for DM/COOP i can host to some1 online but it wont show up on the master server here is my .CFG what am i doing wrong

// ********************** START OF Q2 SERVER FILE **********************
// FILENAME : /home/quake2/quake2/baseq2/Quake2internetDM.cfg
set public "1"
set setmaster "master1.qtracker.com:27901"
set port 27910
set hostname "The Quaker State"
set ServerAdmin "I-am-the-WASLRUS"
set email "CHANGEME"
set webpage "http://CHANGEME"
set deathmatch "1"
set rcon_password "nph"
set timelimit "0"
set fraglimit "10"
set maxclients "10"
set allow_download "1"
set allow_download_players "1"
set allow_download_models "1"
set allow_download_sounds "1"
set allow_download_maps "1"

set mapqueue "maps.lst"
map q2dm1


// ********************** END OF Q2 SERVER FILE **********************

any help would be much appreciated, also i was wondering how Tastey spleen servers have no weapon re-spawns (the gun wont disappear and you cant keep getting ammo from it.) is it a Cvar?
  • Insightful
    Informative
    Funny
    Nice Job / Good Work
    Rock On
    Flawless Logic
    Well-Reasoned Argument and/or Conclusion
    Demonstrates Exceptional Knowlege of the Game
    Appears Not to Comprehend Game Fundamentals
    Frag of the Week
    Frag Hall of Fame
    Jump of the Week
    Jump Hall of Fame
    Best Solution
    Wins The Internet
    Whoosh! You done missed the joke thar Cletus!
    Obvious Troll Is Obvious
    DO YOU EVEN LIFT?
    DEMO OR STFU
    Offtopic
    Flamebait
    Redundant
    Factually Challenged
    Preposterously Irrational Arguments
    Blindingly Obvious Logical Fallacies
    Absurd Misconstrual of Scientific Principles or Evidence
    Amazing Conspiracy Theory Bro
    Racist Ignoramus

Offline Whirlingdervish

  • Super ShortBus Extravaganza
  • Illimitable Sesquipedalian Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6384
    • View Profile
    • The Dervish Depository
  • Rated:
Re: Trouble with Q2 server showing up on masterserver
« Reply #1 on: September 10, 2010, 03:00:20 PM »
first, change your rcon_password, since we all know it now.  ;)

the weapon stay and other kinds of options are all covered by the dmflags setting which you should add to your server config.

like so:
 
set dmflags ######


I think these are the options:

//        DF_NO_HEALTH            1
//        DF_NO_ITEMS             2
//        DF_WEAPONS_STAY         4
//        DF_NO_FALLING           8
//        DF_INSTANT_ITEMS        16
//        DF_SAME_LEVEL           32
//        DF_SKINTEAMS            64
//        DF_MODELTEAMS           128
//        DF_NO_FRIENDLY_FIRE     256
//        DF_SPAWN_FARTHEST       512
//        DF_FORCE_RESPAWN        1024
//        DF_NO_ARMOR             2048
//        DF_ALLOW_EXIT           4096
//        DF_INFINITE_AMMO        8192
//        DF_QUAD_DROP            16384
//        DF_FIXED_FOV            32768

To use multiple flags, just add the numbers together and use the sum as your dmflags setting.
For instance a setup with infinite ammo, no armor and weapon stay would be like this:

8192 + 2048 + 4 = 10244

so you'd put this in your server config:

set dmflags 10244


To make sure your server shows on as many master servers and browsers as possible you should add this line to your config:

setmaster 74.86.155.169 master0.gamespy.com:28900 masterserver.exhale.de:27900 netdome.biz q2master.planetquake.com 206.222.86.244 master.q2servers.com

I think that would cover most of the ones that are active.



  • Insightful
    Informative
    Funny
    Nice Job / Good Work
    Rock On
    Flawless Logic
    Well-Reasoned Argument and/or Conclusion
    Demonstrates Exceptional Knowlege of the Game
    Appears Not to Comprehend Game Fundamentals
    Frag of the Week
    Frag Hall of Fame
    Jump of the Week
    Jump Hall of Fame
    Best Solution
    Wins The Internet
    Whoosh! You done missed the joke thar Cletus!
    Obvious Troll Is Obvious
    DO YOU EVEN LIFT?
    DEMO OR STFU
    Offtopic
    Flamebait
    Redundant
    Factually Challenged
    Preposterously Irrational Arguments
    Blindingly Obvious Logical Fallacies
    Absurd Misconstrual of Scientific Principles or Evidence
    Amazing Conspiracy Theory Bro
    Racist Ignoramus

Offline NPHarris

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
    • View Profile
  • Rated:
Re: Trouble with Q2 server showing up on masterserver
« Reply #2 on: September 10, 2010, 04:07:47 PM »
sweet thanks, ill try that right now, also i use xfire to list my servers maybe thats why, but i doubt it,. i let you know how it goes.


Ok its up now but i still cant seem to see it in xfire quake2 server list, the ip is

70.76.80.189:27910  im assuming everyone can connect(A friend already did from US im from Canada) but it doesn't show up in xfire's quake2 server list or here http://www.gameaholic.com/servers/quake2/50/ <----------------> gameaholic.com

I dunno how every1 else searches maybe game spy or steam or sumthin but, i dont have those to check

BTW this is the server.cfg now

// ********************** START OF Q2 SERVER FILE **********************
// FILENAME : /home/quake2/quake2/baseq2/Quake2internetDM.cfg

setmaster 74.86.155.169 master0.gamespy.com:28900 masterserver.exhale.de:27900 netdome.biz q2master.planetquake.com 206.222.86.244 master.q2servers.com
set public "1"
set port 27910
set hostname "The Quaker State"
set ServerAdmin "I-am-the-WASLRUS"
set email "CHANGEME"
set webpage "http://CHANGEME"
set deathmatch "1"
set rcon_password "?"
set timelimit "0"
set fraglimit "10"
set maxclients "10"
set allow_download "1"
set allow_download_players "1"
set allow_download_models "1"
set allow_download_sounds "1"
set allow_download_maps "1"
set dmflags 16388
set mapqueue "maps.lst"
map q2dm1


// ********************** END OF Q2 SERVER FILE **********************

BUT now on the dedicated server box it says

master server at 206.222.86.244:27900
sending a ping
master server at 75.126.36.34:27900
sending a ping...ect for the rest

Then it says

sending heartbeat to the IP addresses

Then after that it says

ping acknowledgment from the IP addresses

and still not in my xfire quake 2 server list(unless it is added manually to favriotes, if i do so it says its a Canadian server) and there are no other Canadian servers i see active on xfire and its not showing up under the American servers? what could be the problem? Maybe Xfire has its own master server list that i have to add? or theres one im missing that i havnt added that xfire usses.

BTW i can see all of the tastey spleen servers and many others on xfire
« Last Edit: September 10, 2010, 07:43:03 PM by NPHarris »
  • Insightful
    Informative
    Funny
    Nice Job / Good Work
    Rock On
    Flawless Logic
    Well-Reasoned Argument and/or Conclusion
    Demonstrates Exceptional Knowlege of the Game
    Appears Not to Comprehend Game Fundamentals
    Frag of the Week
    Frag Hall of Fame
    Jump of the Week
    Jump Hall of Fame
    Best Solution
    Wins The Internet
    Whoosh! You done missed the joke thar Cletus!
    Obvious Troll Is Obvious
    DO YOU EVEN LIFT?
    DEMO OR STFU
    Offtopic
    Flamebait
    Redundant
    Factually Challenged
    Preposterously Irrational Arguments
    Blindingly Obvious Logical Fallacies
    Absurd Misconstrual of Scientific Principles or Evidence
    Amazing Conspiracy Theory Bro
    Racist Ignoramus

Offline Whirlingdervish

  • Super ShortBus Extravaganza
  • Illimitable Sesquipedalian Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6384
    • View Profile
    • The Dervish Depository
  • Rated:
Re: Trouble with Q2 server showing up on masterserver
« Reply #3 on: September 13, 2010, 10:54:29 AM »
I'm not sure if xfire has their own master server.

They may just include the servers on their global list that are on all of their user's favorites lists.
Try adding your server as a favorite server in your xfire, and see if that makes it show on the "all servers" list.

  • Insightful
    Informative
    Funny
    Nice Job / Good Work
    Rock On
    Flawless Logic
    Well-Reasoned Argument and/or Conclusion
    Demonstrates Exceptional Knowlege of the Game
    Appears Not to Comprehend Game Fundamentals
    Frag of the Week
    Frag Hall of Fame
    Jump of the Week
    Jump Hall of Fame
    Best Solution
    Wins The Internet
    Whoosh! You done missed the joke thar Cletus!
    Obvious Troll Is Obvious
    DO YOU EVEN LIFT?
    DEMO OR STFU
    Offtopic
    Flamebait
    Redundant
    Factually Challenged
    Preposterously Irrational Arguments
    Blindingly Obvious Logical Fallacies
    Absurd Misconstrual of Scientific Principles or Evidence
    Amazing Conspiracy Theory Bro
    Racist Ignoramus

Offline NPHarris

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
    • View Profile
  • Rated:
Re: Trouble with Q2 server showing up on masterserver
« Reply #4 on: September 14, 2010, 03:19:26 PM »
Yes, ive done that, with both of my xfire Acounts (1 for each pc) and still no luck it only shows up in my favorites tab, i think ill check out the xfire forum, but i was wondering what are some other programs like gamespy that people use for quake 2? ill just get that and see if my server is showing up
  • Insightful
    Informative
    Funny
    Nice Job / Good Work
    Rock On
    Flawless Logic
    Well-Reasoned Argument and/or Conclusion
    Demonstrates Exceptional Knowlege of the Game
    Appears Not to Comprehend Game Fundamentals
    Frag of the Week
    Frag Hall of Fame
    Jump of the Week
    Jump Hall of Fame
    Best Solution
    Wins The Internet
    Whoosh! You done missed the joke thar Cletus!
    Obvious Troll Is Obvious
    DO YOU EVEN LIFT?
    DEMO OR STFU
    Offtopic
    Flamebait
    Redundant
    Factually Challenged
    Preposterously Irrational Arguments
    Blindingly Obvious Logical Fallacies
    Absurd Misconstrual of Scientific Principles or Evidence
    Amazing Conspiracy Theory Bro
    Racist Ignoramus

 

El Box de Shoutamente

Last 10 Shouts:

 

RyU

September 03, 2024, 05:15:49 PM
And wow Derrick is still playing lol
 

RyU

September 03, 2024, 05:15:15 PM
Just know yesterday is gone and soon tomorrow will be gone too  :)
 

Lejionator

August 08, 2024, 07:28:01 PM
It's tiem to QuakeCon!!!  ;)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ThQd_UJaTys
 

ImperiusDamian

July 26, 2024, 09:34:53 PM
In nomine Quake II et Id Software et Spiritus John Carmack, Amen.
 

QuakeDuke

July 26, 2024, 05:10:30 PM
Hey, shout, summertime blues
Jump up and down in you blue suede shoes
Hey, did you rock and roll? Rock on!!  ...QD
 

Yotematoi

July 24, 2024, 01:31:20 PM
Ayer me mato 5 veces para robarme en la vida real hará lo mismo? [img]<iframe src="https://www.facebook.com/plugins/post.php?href=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.facebook.com%2Fzoloyoze.torito%2Fposts%2Fpfbid0wXU2VgS7atesBcSoMz5BWMJCJajeZFVT6GzSU6TtpJGddN9kLTvWNgcZaskkbKFQl&amp;show_text=true&amp;width=500
https://www.facebook.com/plugins/post.php?href=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.facebook.com%2Fzoloyoze.torito%2Fposts%2Fpfbid0wXU2VgS7atesBcSoMz5BWMJCJajeZFVT6GzSU6TtpJGddN9kLTvWNgcZaskkbKFQl&show_text=true&width=500" width="500"
 

Yotematoi

July 24, 2024, 01:25:59 PM
hi ya está la basura de Martin, se cambió el nombre es un ladron estupido, asi llegó a 10000[img]<iframe src="https://www.facebook.com/plugins/post.php?href=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.facebook.com%2Fzoloyoze.torito%2Fposts%2Fpfbid03hZrkDUBJPZKCuFgy5hRUy831ekKJYVRzC7ajXaKQbJ6xcPgKftLukUDfovFyEq3l&amp;show_text
https://www.facebook.com/plugins/post.php?href=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.facebook.com%2Fzoloyoze.torito%2Fposts%2Fpfbid03hZrkDUBJPZKCuFgy5hRUy831ekKJYVRzC7ajXaKQbJ6xcPgKftLukUDfovFyEq3l&show_text
 

Yotematoi

July 24, 2024, 01:25:59 PM
hi ya está la basura de Martin, se cambió el nombre es un ladron estupido, asi llegó a 10000[img]<iframe src="https://www.facebook.com/plugins/post.php?href=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.facebook.com%2Fzoloyoze.torito%2Fposts%2Fpfbid03hZrkDUBJPZKCuFgy5hRUy831ekKJYVRzC7ajXaKQbJ6xcPgKftLukUDfovFyEq3l&amp;show_text
https://www.facebook.com/plugins/post.php?href=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.facebook.com%2Fzoloyoze.torito%2Fposts%2Fpfbid03hZrkDUBJPZKCuFgy5hRUy831ekKJYVRzC7ajXaKQbJ6xcPgKftLukUDfovFyEq3l&show_text
 

-Unh0ly-

July 05, 2024, 05:20:36 AM

Show 50 latest
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
September 20, 2024, 02:35:39 AM

Login with username, password and session length