Author Topic: Quake 2 Source Code Question  (Read 656 times)

Offline QuackToo

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
  • Rated:
Quake 2 Source Code Question
« on: May 27, 2018, 05:43:07 AM »
So I downloaded MVS 2008 Express, downloaded the Q2 source code, went to open the visual studio projects contained in the source code in the hopes I can make a mod, and MVS fails to open the project files citing file corruption?

Any pointers please?

Alternatively, say I wanted to make a mod involving modifying the behaviour of AI or weapons, is there a way to simply export the contents of gamex86.dll (which I assume is where that relevant code is located), and recompile only the .dll post-modifications? I don't want to build the whole game if I'm only modifying specific files. And I may want to export Ground Zeros or the other expansion's game code specifically as they have improved AI.

If successful I may have further q2 programming-related questions in the future.
  • Insightful
    Informative
    Funny
    Nice Job / Good Work
    Rock On
    Flawless Logic
    Well-Reasoned Argument and/or Conclusion
    Demonstrates Exceptional Knowlege of the Game
    Appears Not to Comprehend Game Fundamentals
    Frag of the Week
    Frag Hall of Fame
    Jump of the Week
    Jump Hall of Fame
    Best Solution
    Wins The Internet
    Whoosh! You done missed the joke thar Cletus!
    Obvious Troll Is Obvious
    DO YOU EVEN LIFT?
    DEMO OR STFU
    Offtopic
    Flamebait
    Redundant
    Factually Challenged
    Preposterously Irrational Arguments
    Blindingly Obvious Logical Fallacies
    Absurd Misconstrual of Scientific Principles or Evidence
    Amazing Conspiracy Theory Bro
    Racist Ignoramus

Offline QwazyWabbit

  • Carpal Tunnel Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 1232
    • View Profile
  • Rated:
Re: Quake 2 Source Code Question
« Reply #1 on: May 27, 2018, 02:45:02 PM »
Are you trying to start with the ORIGINAL Q2 source code as released by idSoftware? If so, the VC++ 6.0 project it used wasn’t convertible by VS2008. It was convertible by VS2010, however. I think 2008 had some serious deficiencies.

Microsoft no longer supports VS2008.

What do you have and what is your goal?
  • Insightful
    Informative
    Funny
    Nice Job / Good Work
    Rock On
    Flawless Logic
    Well-Reasoned Argument and/or Conclusion
    Demonstrates Exceptional Knowlege of the Game
    Appears Not to Comprehend Game Fundamentals
    Frag of the Week
    Frag Hall of Fame
    Jump of the Week
    Jump Hall of Fame
    Best Solution
    Wins The Internet
    Whoosh! You done missed the joke thar Cletus!
    Obvious Troll Is Obvious
    DO YOU EVEN LIFT?
    DEMO OR STFU
    Offtopic
    Flamebait
    Redundant
    Factually Challenged
    Preposterously Irrational Arguments
    Blindingly Obvious Logical Fallacies
    Absurd Misconstrual of Scientific Principles or Evidence
    Amazing Conspiracy Theory Bro
    Racist Ignoramus

Offline QuackToo

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
  • Rated:
Re: Quake 2 Source Code Question
« Reply #2 on: May 28, 2018, 05:50:34 AM »
Thanks for the reply.

Yes, that's a good point. I have the original source code as released by id. I'm not sure if I should, though. What is the community standard? Should I base my mod on a source port? Some advice on the standards and expectations of the Q2 fanbase in this regard would be great.

Right now I have nothing but ideas and motivation. My goal would be to improve AI and gunplay of the singleplayer campaign, at least to start with. And I don't really want to build the whole game engine to accomplish that, just the relevant files (gamex86.dll, correct me if I'm wrong).
  • Insightful
    Informative
    Funny
    Nice Job / Good Work
    Rock On
    Flawless Logic
    Well-Reasoned Argument and/or Conclusion
    Demonstrates Exceptional Knowlege of the Game
    Appears Not to Comprehend Game Fundamentals
    Frag of the Week
    Frag Hall of Fame
    Jump of the Week
    Jump Hall of Fame
    Best Solution
    Wins The Internet
    Whoosh! You done missed the joke thar Cletus!
    Obvious Troll Is Obvious
    DO YOU EVEN LIFT?
    DEMO OR STFU
    Offtopic
    Flamebait
    Redundant
    Factually Challenged
    Preposterously Irrational Arguments
    Blindingly Obvious Logical Fallacies
    Absurd Misconstrual of Scientific Principles or Evidence
    Amazing Conspiracy Theory Bro
    Racist Ignoramus

Offline QwazyWabbit

  • Carpal Tunnel Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 1232
    • View Profile
  • Rated:
Re: Quake 2 Source Code Question
« Reply #3 on: May 28, 2018, 08:18:46 AM »
The game dll is the game, both single player and deathmatch. You will need to compile only the dll to mod the game but the dll and the executable must be compiled against the same runtime. The runtime is dynamically linked and if they are not the same for all components you can encounter strange bugs.

I would recommend using the R1q2 b8012 game source as a base because it fixes many issues but it lacks the cinematic support for the scene setups between segments of the single player game. The game module doesn’t actually perform them but the client does. AFAIK, r1ch didn’t change the functionality of the game dll in his version, it’s all about the client and server there.

Using VS2017 to convert the 3.21 code to a VS2017 project works without errors but it will want to build against the V140 libs vs v100 for VS2010 that the distributed client uses. You must tailor the project to use v100 runtimes in VS2017. You will get lots of errors and warnings to fix if you compile a converted 3.21 game in any current version of VS.
  • Insightful
    Informative
    Funny
    Nice Job / Good Work
    Rock On
    Flawless Logic
    Well-Reasoned Argument and/or Conclusion
    Demonstrates Exceptional Knowlege of the Game
    Appears Not to Comprehend Game Fundamentals
    Frag of the Week
    Frag Hall of Fame
    Jump of the Week
    Jump Hall of Fame
    Best Solution
    Wins The Internet
    Whoosh! You done missed the joke thar Cletus!
    Obvious Troll Is Obvious
    DO YOU EVEN LIFT?
    DEMO OR STFU
    Offtopic
    Flamebait
    Redundant
    Factually Challenged
    Preposterously Irrational Arguments
    Blindingly Obvious Logical Fallacies
    Absurd Misconstrual of Scientific Principles or Evidence
    Amazing Conspiracy Theory Bro
    Racist Ignoramus

Offline ImperiusDamian

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 259
  • A SHRUBBERY!!
    • View Profile
  • Rated:
Re: Quake 2 Source Code Question
« Reply #4 on: August 06, 2018, 12:50:24 PM »
I believe there's a tutorial somewhere on Youtube that does a 'update Q2 source to work with VS 2013'. I did it a while back and the edited sources work perfectly w/VS 2017 as well.

I can't track it down now, maybe it's no longer on Youtube, but I have a copy of it I downloaded, I can upload if needed?
  • Insightful
    Informative
    Funny
    Nice Job / Good Work
    Rock On
    Flawless Logic
    Well-Reasoned Argument and/or Conclusion
    Demonstrates Exceptional Knowlege of the Game
    Appears Not to Comprehend Game Fundamentals
    Frag of the Week
    Frag Hall of Fame
    Jump of the Week
    Jump Hall of Fame
    Best Solution
    Wins The Internet
    Whoosh! You done missed the joke thar Cletus!
    Obvious Troll Is Obvious
    DO YOU EVEN LIFT?
    DEMO OR STFU
    Offtopic
    Flamebait
    Redundant
    Factually Challenged
    Preposterously Irrational Arguments
    Blindingly Obvious Logical Fallacies
    Absurd Misconstrual of Scientific Principles or Evidence
    Amazing Conspiracy Theory Bro
    Racist Ignoramus
"You and your ping can go to hell." - Arkaine, January 12th 2000

 

El Box de Shoutamente

Last 10 Shouts:

Sgt. Dick

May 21, 2019, 04:07:06 AM
Foc - where are you.
 

quadz

May 18, 2019, 10:21:55 PM
Thanks, yes, system crashed; unknown reason.

Hopefully everything is restarted now.
 

NIN-IceFox

May 18, 2019, 08:56:59 PM
Some servers seem down currently Quadz, don't know if it's just a hiccup that'll fix itself, maintenance or what, but just in case, I mention it.
 

NoBugsOnMe

May 13, 2019, 09:44:19 PM
pm gang rise up
 

quadz

May 10, 2019, 08:27:35 PM
It's always been that if you mymap and disconnect before the map goes live, it's deleted from the queue.

Occasinally, someone will stick around until their map loads, and THEN disconnect, which is not appreciated. (Currently the only recourse is a full mute, as there's no provision for blocking just mymap usage.)

At least these days, the chosen map has to be roughly compatible with the number of players active on the server. (No more mapping sewer64 on a 3-player server; etc.)

Punk_FAS

May 10, 2019, 08:22:02 AM
Any way to prevent people from trolling with mymap? By that I mean they join the server, mymap a map, then immediately discconnect, forcing whoever's playing to play a map that nobody there necessarily wanted to play in the first place. Maybe have it check to see if the player who issued the command
 

R. Hayabusa

May 07, 2019, 10:16:25 PM
it's tradition to play vanila and listen to something like this
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yOSsvue9DM0&t=243s

Punk_FAS

May 07, 2019, 07:44:28 PM
Seems like that did the trick, quadz. I'm sure everyone is happy to have their lower pings back :) Thanks!

0rbisson

May 06, 2019, 08:23:50 PM
Yes it appears to be normal. thanks
 

quadz

May 06, 2019, 01:44:21 PM
OK, they made a routing change that appears to have resolved the issue I was seeing here.

Everyone else's pings back to normal?

Show 50 latest
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
May 23, 2019, 02:51:00 AM

Login with username, password and session length