Author Topic: Replacing the rocket/grenade splash damage animation/graphic  (Read 799 times)

Offline Punk_FAS

  • Swanky Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 964
    • View Profile
  • Rated:
Replacing the rocket/grenade splash damage animation/graphic
« on: April 18, 2019, 08:28:41 PM »
The rocket and grenade splash is a constant smokescreen preventing me from seeing what's going on behind it. I guess you could argue that it's part of the game, but I find it really annoying. I think I replaced it years and years ago with something that was mostly gray sparkles or something like that. It didn't obstruct the view nearly as much anyway.

Does anybody use one of these or know how to install it? It's been so many years since I've fiddled with a .pak file.
  • Insightful
    Informative
    Funny
    Nice Job / Good Work
    Rock On
    Flawless Logic
    Well-Reasoned Argument and/or Conclusion
    Demonstrates Exceptional Knowlege of the Game
    Appears Not to Comprehend Game Fundamentals
    Frag of the Week
    Frag Hall of Fame
    Jump of the Week
    Jump Hall of Fame
    Best Solution
    Wins The Internet
    Whoosh! You done missed the joke thar Cletus!
    Obvious Troll Is Obvious
    DO YOU EVEN LIFT?
    DEMO OR STFU
    Offtopic
    Flamebait
    Redundant
    Factually Challenged
    Preposterously Irrational Arguments
    Blindingly Obvious Logical Fallacies
    Absurd Misconstrual of Scientific Principles or Evidence
    Amazing Conspiracy Theory Bro
    Racist Ignoramus

Offline Costigan

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 33
    • View Profile
  • Rated:
Re: Replacing the rocket/grenade splash damage animation/graphic
« Reply #1 on: April 18, 2019, 09:55:19 PM »
I found this : Low poly model for rocket explosion...

There are various different updates in different replies in this topic, i haven't used it so i can't attest to its worth.


While i'm here i'd like to make this observation: if someone was minded to go through the forum looking for all of the topics and posts pertaining to any one subject then they could collate what they find to present it all in a topic containing information from said topics and posts and also links to said topics and posts, this could be done for the purpose of creating strong topics worthy of a sticky so that material on the forum pertaining to any one subject could be well represented and easily found.

Having searched through this forum at length quite a number of times over the years it has always seemed to me as i have done so that every important/relevant Quake 2 question has already been asked and answered at least once somewhere on this forum.

Offline haunted

  • Inexorably Palaverous Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 8290
  • I am hollywood.
    • View Profile
  • Rated:
Re: Replacing the rocket/grenade splash damage animation/graphic
« Reply #2 on: April 19, 2019, 01:39:06 PM »
Just use client side commands? I may be mistaken, but it sounds like you need a good config/autoexec opposed to a pak.
  • Insightful
    Informative
    Funny
    Nice Job / Good Work
    Rock On
    Flawless Logic
    Well-Reasoned Argument and/or Conclusion
    Demonstrates Exceptional Knowlege of the Game
    Appears Not to Comprehend Game Fundamentals
    Frag of the Week
    Frag Hall of Fame
    Jump of the Week
    Jump Hall of Fame
    Best Solution
    Wins The Internet
    Whoosh! You done missed the joke thar Cletus!
    Obvious Troll Is Obvious
    DO YOU EVEN LIFT?
    DEMO OR STFU
    Offtopic
    Flamebait
    Redundant
    Factually Challenged
    Preposterously Irrational Arguments
    Blindingly Obvious Logical Fallacies
    Absurd Misconstrual of Scientific Principles or Evidence
    Amazing Conspiracy Theory Bro
    Racist Ignoramus

Offline Punk_FAS

  • Swanky Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 964
    • View Profile
  • Rated:
Re: Replacing the rocket/grenade splash damage animation/graphic
« Reply #3 on: April 19, 2019, 03:30:46 PM »
Just use client side commands? I may be mistaken, but it sounds like you need a good config/autoexec opposed to a pak.
I think it has to be a file (in a .pak, etc.). I don't think there are any commands to control the opacity of the explosion animation/graphic.
  • Insightful
    Informative
    Funny
    Nice Job / Good Work
    Rock On
    Flawless Logic
    Well-Reasoned Argument and/or Conclusion
    Demonstrates Exceptional Knowlege of the Game
    Appears Not to Comprehend Game Fundamentals
    Frag of the Week
    Frag Hall of Fame
    Jump of the Week
    Jump Hall of Fame
    Best Solution
    Wins The Internet
    Whoosh! You done missed the joke thar Cletus!
    Obvious Troll Is Obvious
    DO YOU EVEN LIFT?
    DEMO OR STFU
    Offtopic
    Flamebait
    Redundant
    Factually Challenged
    Preposterously Irrational Arguments
    Blindingly Obvious Logical Fallacies
    Absurd Misconstrual of Scientific Principles or Evidence
    Amazing Conspiracy Theory Bro
    Racist Ignoramus

Offline haunted

  • Inexorably Palaverous Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 8290
  • I am hollywood.
    • View Profile
  • Rated:
Re: Replacing the rocket/grenade splash damage animation/graphic
« Reply #4 on: April 19, 2019, 06:43:00 PM »
I can't load up q2 at the moment. I've used to use ~99% stock q2 and haven't come across this issue so I was generalizing  :exqueezeme:
  • Insightful
    Informative
    Funny
    Nice Job / Good Work
    Rock On
    Flawless Logic
    Well-Reasoned Argument and/or Conclusion
    Demonstrates Exceptional Knowlege of the Game
    Appears Not to Comprehend Game Fundamentals
    Frag of the Week
    Frag Hall of Fame
    Jump of the Week
    Jump Hall of Fame
    Best Solution
    Wins The Internet
    Whoosh! You done missed the joke thar Cletus!
    Obvious Troll Is Obvious
    DO YOU EVEN LIFT?
    DEMO OR STFU
    Offtopic
    Flamebait
    Redundant
    Factually Challenged
    Preposterously Irrational Arguments
    Blindingly Obvious Logical Fallacies
    Absurd Misconstrual of Scientific Principles or Evidence
    Amazing Conspiracy Theory Bro
    Racist Ignoramus

Offline Costigan

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 33
    • View Profile
  • Rated:
Re: Replacing the rocket/grenade splash damage animation/graphic
« Reply #5 on: April 19, 2019, 07:29:42 PM »
I found this : Quake 2 Console Commands (Last Modified: December 3, 1998)

Obviously different Q2 clients and Q2 mods eg Q2PRO Client Manual will have extra console commands.


edit: in the 'Effects' section of the Q2PRO Client Manual there are several relevant console commands.


cl_disable_particles
Disables rendering of particles for the following effects. This variable is a bitmask. Default value is 0.

1 — grenade explosions
2 — grenade trails
4 — rocket explosions
8 — rocket trails


cl_disable_explosions
Disables rendering of animated models for the following effects. This variable is a bitmask. Default value is 0.

1 — grenade explosions
2 — rocket explosions


Tip: Bitmasks
Bitmask cvars allow multiple features to be enabled. To enable the needed set of features, their values need to be summed.


I dunno what else is in there but Q2PRO clearly has it covered from the console command angle.
« Last Edit: January 05, 2020, 06:55:20 PM by Costigan »
  • Insightful
    Informative
    Funny
    Nice Job / Good Work
    Rock On
    Flawless Logic
    Well-Reasoned Argument and/or Conclusion
    Demonstrates Exceptional Knowlege of the Game
    Appears Not to Comprehend Game Fundamentals
    Frag of the Week
    Frag Hall of Fame
    Jump of the Week
    Jump Hall of Fame
    Best Solution
    Wins The Internet
    Whoosh! You done missed the joke thar Cletus!
    Obvious Troll Is Obvious
    DO YOU EVEN LIFT?
    DEMO OR STFU
    Offtopic
    Flamebait
    Redundant
    Factually Challenged
    Preposterously Irrational Arguments
    Blindingly Obvious Logical Fallacies
    Absurd Misconstrual of Scientific Principles or Evidence
    Amazing Conspiracy Theory Bro
    Racist Ignoramus

 

El Box de Shoutamente

Last 10 Shouts:

Randy

March 30, 2020, 04:01:16 PM
Hello everyone 😈

RyU

March 29, 2020, 11:10:04 PM
hey who dem alias FUCKAS

-Unh0ly-

March 24, 2020, 05:42:49 PM
TEXTURE PAK UPDATE!!!!!

http://unh0ly.wordpress.com

Punk_FAS

March 23, 2020, 06:07:31 PM
That sucks... maybe (probably) that same person that loves to join the DM server with his script/bot (was going by equate last I saw).
 

Admin

March 23, 2020, 02:12:22 PM
Yes it's a DoS attack
 

Admin

March 23, 2020, 02:06:20 PM
Might be a Denial of Service attack of some sort. Something is making the DM server take 100% CPU. (Will investigate when I can, at work right now.) Restarting DM server didn't help.
 

Admin

March 23, 2020, 02:00:18 PM
How strange.

Punk_FAS

March 23, 2020, 01:59:50 PM
netgraph looks pretty normal from what I can tell too. I've taken a number of screenshots with it up - not sure if that's helpful or not.

Punk_FAS

March 23, 2020, 01:59:15 PM
It looks like we're having a LAN party wherever the server is located. Pings are like in the low single digits for almost everyone. Even the people who normally ping in the upper 100s are showing pings of like 25ish. This is on DM anyway.
 

|iR|Focalor

March 23, 2020, 01:57:11 PM
only DM, vanilla and railz running smooth

Show 50 latest
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
March 31, 2020, 02:31:53 AM

Login with username, password and session length