Author Topic: Replacing the rocket/grenade splash damage animation/graphic  (Read 155 times)

Offline Punk_FAS

  • Swanky Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 878
    • View Profile
  • Rated:
Replacing the rocket/grenade splash damage animation/graphic
« on: April 18, 2019, 08:28:41 PM »
The rocket and grenade splash is a constant smokescreen preventing me from seeing what's going on behind it. I guess you could argue that it's part of the game, but I find it really annoying. I think I replaced it years and years ago with something that was mostly gray sparkles or something like that. It didn't obstruct the view nearly as much anyway.

Does anybody use one of these or know how to install it? It's been so many years since I've fiddled with a .pak file.
  • Insightful
    Informative
    Funny
    Nice Job / Good Work
    Rock On
    Flawless Logic
    Well-Reasoned Argument and/or Conclusion
    Demonstrates Exceptional Knowlege of the Game
    Appears Not to Comprehend Game Fundamentals
    Frag of the Week
    Frag Hall of Fame
    Jump of the Week
    Jump Hall of Fame
    Best Solution
    Wins The Internet
    Whoosh! You done missed the joke thar Cletus!
    Obvious Troll Is Obvious
    DO YOU EVEN LIFT?
    DEMO OR STFU
    Offtopic
    Flamebait
    Redundant
    Factually Challenged
    Preposterously Irrational Arguments
    Blindingly Obvious Logical Fallacies
    Absurd Misconstrual of Scientific Principles or Evidence
    Amazing Conspiracy Theory Bro
    Racist Ignoramus

Offline Costigan

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
  • Rated:
Re: Replacing the rocket/grenade splash damage animation/graphic
« Reply #1 on: April 18, 2019, 09:55:19 PM »
I found this : Low poly model for rocket explosion...

There are various different updates in different replies in this topic, i haven't used it so i can't attest to its worth.


While i'm here i'd like to make this observation: if someone was minded to go through the forum looking for all of the topics and posts pertaining to any one subject then they could collate what they find to present it all in a topic containing information from said topics and posts and also links to said topics and posts, this could be done for the purpose of creating strong topics worthy of a sticky so that material on the forum pertaining to any one subject could be well represented and easily found.

Having searched through this forum at length quite a number of times over the years it has always seemed to me as i have done so that every important/relevant Quake 2 question has already been asked and answered at least once somewhere on this forum.

Offline haunted

  • Inexorably Palaverous Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 7969
  • I am hollywood.
    • View Profile
  • Rated:
Re: Replacing the rocket/grenade splash damage animation/graphic
« Reply #2 on: April 19, 2019, 01:39:06 PM »
Just use client side commands? I may be mistaken, but it sounds like you need a good config/autoexec opposed to a pak.
  • Insightful
    Informative
    Funny
    Nice Job / Good Work
    Rock On
    Flawless Logic
    Well-Reasoned Argument and/or Conclusion
    Demonstrates Exceptional Knowlege of the Game
    Appears Not to Comprehend Game Fundamentals
    Frag of the Week
    Frag Hall of Fame
    Jump of the Week
    Jump Hall of Fame
    Best Solution
    Wins The Internet
    Whoosh! You done missed the joke thar Cletus!
    Obvious Troll Is Obvious
    DO YOU EVEN LIFT?
    DEMO OR STFU
    Offtopic
    Flamebait
    Redundant
    Factually Challenged
    Preposterously Irrational Arguments
    Blindingly Obvious Logical Fallacies
    Absurd Misconstrual of Scientific Principles or Evidence
    Amazing Conspiracy Theory Bro
    Racist Ignoramus

Offline Punk_FAS

  • Swanky Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 878
    • View Profile
  • Rated:
Re: Replacing the rocket/grenade splash damage animation/graphic
« Reply #3 on: April 19, 2019, 03:30:46 PM »
Just use client side commands? I may be mistaken, but it sounds like you need a good config/autoexec opposed to a pak.
I think it has to be a file (in a .pak, etc.). I don't think there are any commands to control the opacity of the explosion animation/graphic.
  • Insightful
    Informative
    Funny
    Nice Job / Good Work
    Rock On
    Flawless Logic
    Well-Reasoned Argument and/or Conclusion
    Demonstrates Exceptional Knowlege of the Game
    Appears Not to Comprehend Game Fundamentals
    Frag of the Week
    Frag Hall of Fame
    Jump of the Week
    Jump Hall of Fame
    Best Solution
    Wins The Internet
    Whoosh! You done missed the joke thar Cletus!
    Obvious Troll Is Obvious
    DO YOU EVEN LIFT?
    DEMO OR STFU
    Offtopic
    Flamebait
    Redundant
    Factually Challenged
    Preposterously Irrational Arguments
    Blindingly Obvious Logical Fallacies
    Absurd Misconstrual of Scientific Principles or Evidence
    Amazing Conspiracy Theory Bro
    Racist Ignoramus

Offline haunted

  • Inexorably Palaverous Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 7969
  • I am hollywood.
    • View Profile
  • Rated:
Re: Replacing the rocket/grenade splash damage animation/graphic
« Reply #4 on: April 19, 2019, 06:43:00 PM »
I can't load up q2 at the moment. I've used to use ~99% stock q2 and haven't come across this issue so I was generalizing  :exqueezeme:
  • Insightful
    Informative
    Funny
    Nice Job / Good Work
    Rock On
    Flawless Logic
    Well-Reasoned Argument and/or Conclusion
    Demonstrates Exceptional Knowlege of the Game
    Appears Not to Comprehend Game Fundamentals
    Frag of the Week
    Frag Hall of Fame
    Jump of the Week
    Jump Hall of Fame
    Best Solution
    Wins The Internet
    Whoosh! You done missed the joke thar Cletus!
    Obvious Troll Is Obvious
    DO YOU EVEN LIFT?
    DEMO OR STFU
    Offtopic
    Flamebait
    Redundant
    Factually Challenged
    Preposterously Irrational Arguments
    Blindingly Obvious Logical Fallacies
    Absurd Misconstrual of Scientific Principles or Evidence
    Amazing Conspiracy Theory Bro
    Racist Ignoramus

Offline Costigan

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
  • Rated:
Re: Replacing the rocket/grenade splash damage animation/graphic
« Reply #5 on: April 19, 2019, 07:29:42 PM »
I found this : Quake 2 Console Commands (Last Modified: December 3, 1998)

Obviously different Q2 clients and Q2 mods eg Q2PRO Client Manual will have extra console commands.


edit: in the 'Effects' section of the Q2PRO Client Manual there are several relevant console commands.


cl_disable_particles
Disables rendering of particles for the following effects. This variable is a bitmask. Default value is 0.

1 — grenade explosions

2 — grenade trails

4 — rocket explosions

8 — rocket trails


cl_disable_explosions
Disables rendering of animated models for the following effects. This variable is a bitmask. Default value is 0.

1 — grenade explosions

2 — rocket explosions


Tip: Bitmasks
Bitmask cvars allow multiple features to be enabled. To enable the needed set of features, their values need to be summed.


I dunno what else is in there but Q2PRO clearly has it covered from the console command angle.
« Last Edit: April 19, 2019, 08:00:26 PM by Costigan »
  • Insightful
    Informative
    Funny
    Nice Job / Good Work
    Rock On
    Flawless Logic
    Well-Reasoned Argument and/or Conclusion
    Demonstrates Exceptional Knowlege of the Game
    Appears Not to Comprehend Game Fundamentals
    Frag of the Week
    Frag Hall of Fame
    Jump of the Week
    Jump Hall of Fame
    Best Solution
    Wins The Internet
    Whoosh! You done missed the joke thar Cletus!
    Obvious Troll Is Obvious
    DO YOU EVEN LIFT?
    DEMO OR STFU
    Offtopic
    Flamebait
    Redundant
    Factually Challenged
    Preposterously Irrational Arguments
    Blindingly Obvious Logical Fallacies
    Absurd Misconstrual of Scientific Principles or Evidence
    Amazing Conspiracy Theory Bro
    Racist Ignoramus

 

El Box de Shoutamente

Last 10 Shouts:

Sgt. Dick

May 21, 2019, 04:07:06 AM
Foc - where are you.
 

quadz

May 18, 2019, 10:21:55 PM
Thanks, yes, system crashed; unknown reason.

Hopefully everything is restarted now.
 

NIN-IceFox

May 18, 2019, 08:56:59 PM
Some servers seem down currently Quadz, don't know if it's just a hiccup that'll fix itself, maintenance or what, but just in case, I mention it.
 

NoBugsOnMe

May 13, 2019, 09:44:19 PM
pm gang rise up
 

quadz

May 10, 2019, 08:27:35 PM
It's always been that if you mymap and disconnect before the map goes live, it's deleted from the queue.

Occasinally, someone will stick around until their map loads, and THEN disconnect, which is not appreciated. (Currently the only recourse is a full mute, as there's no provision for blocking just mymap usage.)

At least these days, the chosen map has to be roughly compatible with the number of players active on the server. (No more mapping sewer64 on a 3-player server; etc.)

Punk_FAS

May 10, 2019, 08:22:02 AM
Any way to prevent people from trolling with mymap? By that I mean they join the server, mymap a map, then immediately discconnect, forcing whoever's playing to play a map that nobody there necessarily wanted to play in the first place. Maybe have it check to see if the player who issued the command
 

R. Hayabusa

May 07, 2019, 10:16:25 PM
it's tradition to play vanila and listen to something like this
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yOSsvue9DM0&t=243s

Punk_FAS

May 07, 2019, 07:44:28 PM
Seems like that did the trick, quadz. I'm sure everyone is happy to have their lower pings back :) Thanks!

0rbisson

May 06, 2019, 08:23:50 PM
Yes it appears to be normal. thanks
 

quadz

May 06, 2019, 01:44:21 PM
OK, they made a routing change that appears to have resolved the issue I was seeing here.

Everyone else's pings back to normal?

Show 50 latest
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
May 23, 2019, 05:56:02 PM

Login with username, password and session length