Author Topic: Cannot Connect, Security Module Not Found?  (Read 355 times)

Offline PeterJay

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
  • Rated:
Cannot Connect, Security Module Not Found?
« on: November 26, 2018, 12:29:39 PM »
Hello, I'm trying to connect to several tasty servers but cannot get in? I'm trying to access them through old game scanner software. It works on other old servers i have in there, but when i put the tasty ip's in, i can see who is playing..but when i try to connect. I get an error message saying *Failed - Security Module not found*

Help! I itching to FRAG you fine people!
  • Insightful
    Informative
    Funny
    Nice Job / Good Work
    Rock On
    Flawless Logic
    Well-Reasoned Argument and/or Conclusion
    Demonstrates Exceptional Knowlege of the Game
    Appears Not to Comprehend Game Fundamentals
    Frag of the Week
    Frag Hall of Fame
    Jump of the Week
    Jump Hall of Fame
    Best Solution
    Wins The Internet
    Whoosh! You done missed the joke thar Cletus!
    Obvious Troll Is Obvious
    DO YOU EVEN LIFT?
    DEMO OR STFU
    Offtopic
    Flamebait
    Redundant
    Factually Challenged
    Preposterously Irrational Arguments
    Blindingly Obvious Logical Fallacies
    Absurd Misconstrual of Scientific Principles or Evidence
    Amazing Conspiracy Theory Bro
    Racist Ignoramus

Offline quadz

  • Phenomenally Prodigious Member
  • **
  • Posts: 3849
    • View Profile
  • Rated:
Re: Cannot Connect, Security Module Not Found?
« Reply #1 on: November 26, 2018, 01:36:26 PM »
You're using the new server IPs, right?

http://tastyspleen.net/quake/servers/list.cgi

Which OS and Q2 client are you running?

If you have anticheat.dll installed, try temporarily removing it as a diagnostic measure?


  • Insightful
    Informative
    Funny
    Nice Job / Good Work
    Rock On
    Flawless Logic
    Well-Reasoned Argument and/or Conclusion
    Demonstrates Exceptional Knowlege of the Game
    Appears Not to Comprehend Game Fundamentals
    Frag of the Week
    Frag Hall of Fame
    Jump of the Week
    Jump Hall of Fame
    Best Solution
    Wins The Internet
    Whoosh! You done missed the joke thar Cletus!
    Obvious Troll Is Obvious
    DO YOU EVEN LIFT?
    DEMO OR STFU
    Offtopic
    Flamebait
    Redundant
    Factually Challenged
    Preposterously Irrational Arguments
    Blindingly Obvious Logical Fallacies
    Absurd Misconstrual of Scientific Principles or Evidence
    Amazing Conspiracy Theory Bro
    Racist Ignoramus
"He knew all the tricks, dramatic irony, metaphor, bathos, puns, parody, litotes and... satire. He was vicious."

Offline PeterJay

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
  • Rated:
Re: Cannot Connect, Security Module Not Found?
« Reply #2 on: November 28, 2018, 10:37:17 AM »
I would cut and paste the ip's right from this list, into "Game Scanner 2.1" software. As I said, it allows me to see the number of players, and who the are. But when I try to connect the game, it won't connect. Just can't figure out why. I'm using ezquake 2.1. It connects to another server, other than tasty (which illustrates that it works)...but all the action seems to be tasty! Is there some sort of security mod required to play Tasty servers?
  • Insightful
    Informative
    Funny
    Nice Job / Good Work
    Rock On
    Flawless Logic
    Well-Reasoned Argument and/or Conclusion
    Demonstrates Exceptional Knowlege of the Game
    Appears Not to Comprehend Game Fundamentals
    Frag of the Week
    Frag Hall of Fame
    Jump of the Week
    Jump Hall of Fame
    Best Solution
    Wins The Internet
    Whoosh! You done missed the joke thar Cletus!
    Obvious Troll Is Obvious
    DO YOU EVEN LIFT?
    DEMO OR STFU
    Offtopic
    Flamebait
    Redundant
    Factually Challenged
    Preposterously Irrational Arguments
    Blindingly Obvious Logical Fallacies
    Absurd Misconstrual of Scientific Principles or Evidence
    Amazing Conspiracy Theory Bro
    Racist Ignoramus

Offline PeterJay

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
  • Rated:
Re: Cannot Connect, Security Module Not Found?
« Reply #3 on: November 29, 2018, 08:31:13 PM »
I paste this ip....23.227.170.222:27916...and still cant connect. Do I need a password? I'll continue to try, as my need to frag is great!  :help:
  • Insightful
    Informative
    Funny
    Nice Job / Good Work
    Rock On
    Flawless Logic
    Well-Reasoned Argument and/or Conclusion
    Demonstrates Exceptional Knowlege of the Game
    Appears Not to Comprehend Game Fundamentals
    Frag of the Week
    Frag Hall of Fame
    Jump of the Week
    Jump Hall of Fame
    Best Solution
    Wins The Internet
    Whoosh! You done missed the joke thar Cletus!
    Obvious Troll Is Obvious
    DO YOU EVEN LIFT?
    DEMO OR STFU
    Offtopic
    Flamebait
    Redundant
    Factually Challenged
    Preposterously Irrational Arguments
    Blindingly Obvious Logical Fallacies
    Absurd Misconstrual of Scientific Principles or Evidence
    Amazing Conspiracy Theory Bro
    Racist Ignoramus

Offline |iR|Focalor

  • Irrepressibly Profuse Member
  • *
  • Posts: 13098
  • OFFO
    • View Profile
    • Focalor's Lair @ Tastyspleen.net
  • Rated:
Re: Cannot Connect, Security Module Not Found?
« Reply #4 on: November 30, 2018, 01:43:53 AM »
I don't know what "gamescanner" is, but you can always just add the ip to your games autoexec config and join the server by going to the games multiplayer menu.

Go to Quake2/baseq2 and open autoexec.cfg (or config.cfg if autoexec isn't there) with Notepad. Halfway down the list, you'll start seeing entries beginning with "set" rather than bind. In this area should be several lines for server IP addresses, like...

set adr8 ""
set adr7 ""
set adr6 ""
set adr5 ""
set adr4 ""
set adr3 ""
set adr2 ""
set adr1 ""
set adr0 ""

In between the quotes of any one of those, just paste the server IP. Like...

set adr8 ""
set adr7 ""
set adr6 ""
set adr5 ""
set adr4 ""
set adr3 ""
set adr2 ""
set adr1 ""
set adr0 "23.227.170.222:27916"

And I'm assuming thats the right IP, it's whatever you posted in your last post. But after that, close and save the file. There's a possibility the file might be set to read only. If so, right click>properties>uncheck the box for read only, then try it again. (I typically keep my config files on read-only unless I'm intentionally editing them outside the game) Then start up the game from the clients EXE, NOT from whatever Game Scanner thingy it is you've been using. Then go to multiplayer - join network server - and scroll down to where the server is listed in your address book.

That's how probably 99% of the rest of us connect to play. Easy peasy.
  • Insightful
    Informative
    Funny
    Nice Job / Good Work
    Rock On
    Flawless Logic
    Well-Reasoned Argument and/or Conclusion
    Demonstrates Exceptional Knowlege of the Game
    Appears Not to Comprehend Game Fundamentals
    Frag of the Week
    Frag Hall of Fame
    Jump of the Week
    Jump Hall of Fame
    Best Solution
    Wins The Internet
    Whoosh! You done missed the joke thar Cletus!
    Obvious Troll Is Obvious
    DO YOU EVEN LIFT?
    DEMO OR STFU
    Offtopic
    Flamebait
    Redundant
    Factually Challenged
    Preposterously Irrational Arguments
    Blindingly Obvious Logical Fallacies
    Absurd Misconstrual of Scientific Principles or Evidence
    Amazing Conspiracy Theory Bro
    Racist Ignoramus

Offline QwazyWabbit

  • Carpal Tunnel Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 1236
    • View Profile
  • Rated:
Re: Cannot Connect, Security Module Not Found?
« Reply #5 on: November 30, 2018, 11:39:31 AM »
It’s hard to troubleshoot this without more information.
Exactly which game scanner are you using?
Exactly which Q2 client are you launching with it?
Is this failure message coming from the game scanner or the game client?
Is it a pop up message or in the game client console?
  • Insightful
    Informative
    Funny
    Nice Job / Good Work
    Rock On
    Flawless Logic
    Well-Reasoned Argument and/or Conclusion
    Demonstrates Exceptional Knowlege of the Game
    Appears Not to Comprehend Game Fundamentals
    Frag of the Week
    Frag Hall of Fame
    Jump of the Week
    Jump Hall of Fame
    Best Solution
    Wins The Internet
    Whoosh! You done missed the joke thar Cletus!
    Obvious Troll Is Obvious
    DO YOU EVEN LIFT?
    DEMO OR STFU
    Offtopic
    Flamebait
    Redundant
    Factually Challenged
    Preposterously Irrational Arguments
    Blindingly Obvious Logical Fallacies
    Absurd Misconstrual of Scientific Principles or Evidence
    Amazing Conspiracy Theory Bro
    Racist Ignoramus

 

El Box de Shoutamente

Last 10 Shouts:

QwazyWabbit

July 07, 2019, 12:04:38 AM
 

The Dreaming Dragon

July 06, 2019, 05:27:25 AM
How do you get to the personal webpages that this site hosts? I need to find mine.
 

Shogun

June 28, 2019, 09:50:27 AM
Rectum! Damn near killed em! hahahahahaha

 

Shogun

June 15, 2019, 08:10:43 PM
Whose Franlkin? Players aliasing this day in age. haha
 

quadz

June 10, 2019, 01:51:13 PM
More detailed look at Q2 RTX


https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=r9vXz9-C-AY
 

quadz

June 09, 2019, 07:47:06 PM

[BTF]Defiant!

June 08, 2019, 09:02:37 AM
Good video overview Quadz!
 

quadz

June 07, 2019, 03:08:21 PM
Reasonably informative Q2 Ray Tracing video:


https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sFhc951RhfI
 

Shogun

June 07, 2019, 12:03:42 PM
I don't have the golden ticket.
 

quadz

June 06, 2019, 03:19:00 PM
Yes, if you're fortunate to have one of the new RTX video cards. (I don't, so I'm watching people stream raytraced Q2 on twitch instead.)

Show 50 latest
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
July 21, 2019, 03:37:53 AM

Login with username, password and session length