Author Topic: Cant play versus with my friends  (Read 1351 times)

JynErso

  • Guest
Cant play versus with my friends
« on: April 09, 2017, 01:30:05 AM »
Tried to play the fox, xtra and xrazy maps in my PC with my sister and I cant. They are not in the list for versus.
I cant load them neither using "map xxx"
Why?
  • Insightful
    Informative
    Funny
    Nice Job / Good Work
    Rock On
    Flawless Logic
    Well-Reasoned Argument and/or Conclusion
    Demonstrates Exceptional Knowlege of the Game
    Appears Not to Comprehend Game Fundamentals
    Frag of the Week
    Frag Hall of Fame
    Jump of the Week
    Jump Hall of Fame
    Best Solution
    Wins The Internet
    Whoosh! You done missed the joke thar Cletus!
    Obvious Troll Is Obvious
    DO YOU EVEN LIFT?
    DEMO OR STFU
    Offtopic
    Flamebait
    Redundant
    Factually Challenged
    Preposterously Irrational Arguments
    Blindingly Obvious Logical Fallacies
    Absurd Misconstrual of Scientific Principles or Evidence
    Amazing Conspiracy Theory Bro
    Racist Ignoramus

Offline QwazyWabbit

  • Carpal Tunnel Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 1231
    • View Profile
  • Rated:
Re: Cant play versus with my friends
« Reply #1 on: April 10, 2017, 10:40:34 AM »
If I understand you correctly, you want to play multiplayer mods with your sister
who has a computer on the same LAN as you. (You are both in the same house.)

There are two ways to start a multiplayer server; listen and dedicated. The best
approach is to use the command line to start a dedicated server, then connect
to it with your client(s).

To launch a dedicated server in Windows, launch a cmd window, then navigate it
to the folder containing your Quake 2 executables then type:
quake2 +set dedicated 1 +set game modname +exec server.cfg
Where "quake2" is the name of the executable. This can also be q2pro.exe
or r1q2.exe since they have updates that make them more secure and more stable.
Both of these executables have their advantages, q2pro starts a nice cmd
window and r1q2 start a Windows window, separate from the cmd window
that launched it. Personally, I prefer r1q2.

"modname" is the name of the mod you want to play, (e.g. ctf, fox, xatrix)
"server.cfg" is the name of the configuration file located in the mod folder
and it contains configuration values for the particular mod you are launching.
Most mod installation kits come with a sample server.cfg file you can use as
a starting point. The name of this file can vary. Do not mistake autoexec.cfg
or config.cfg files as server startups, these are for clients.

The very last line of any server.cfg file must always be "gamemap mapname" for the
first map the server will start. Use this line without the quotes, always use
gamemap, not the map command, for servers.

An essential item for any private server like this should be to "set public 0" in
the server.cfg to prevent the server from attempting to announce itself on
master servers. A public server needs to be configured at your router firewall
and this is another topic for another time.

Every mod has it's own banner or announcement that it's running correctly.
Refer to the documentation on that mod for information about it.
For example, TMG in CTF mode announces itself something like this:
==== InitGame (TMG 0.2.35 built Apr  6 2017) ====

===========================================
 This game library contains the bot
    detection system developed
        by Doug 'RaVeN' Buckley.
TMGBot 'Base' Bot code developed By Ponpoko
  Corrections, improvements and bug fixes
              by QwazyWabbit
===========================================


==== Wav Mod v.01 set up ====
...

To test your server is running, type:
status
It will respond with something like this:
map              : q2dm1
num score ping name            lastmsg ip address            rate/pps ver
--- ----- ---- --------------- ------- --------------------- -------- ---



Once you have the server running the mod correctly you can connect
to it with your clients. You will need to know the IP address of the
computer that is running the server. This will usually vary, most
routers are configured to use dynamically assign IP addresses to
computers on the LAN.

To find out your computer's IP address type "ipconfig" in a cmd window and get
something that looks like this (From Windows 10):
C:\Quake2>ipconfig

Windows IP Configuration


Ethernet adapter Ethernet:

   Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . : home
   IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : fd00::5957:f532:6c3:73a5
   Temporary IPv6 Address. . . . . . : fd00::1cd2:3915:81e:549e
   Temporary IPv6 Address. . . . . . : fd00::3885:bfe7:8ee0:cbfd
   Temporary IPv6 Address. . . . . . : fd00::5ce8:a179:3053:2ba9
   Temporary IPv6 Address. . . . . . : fd00::9df7:b51:2374:d379
   Temporary IPv6 Address. . . . . . : fd00::b8f5:edc9:dc98:5997
   Temporary IPv6 Address. . . . . . : fd00::cd0f:8467:75cc:321f
   Temporary IPv6 Address. . . . . . : fd00::e575:a2b2:d23f:e132
   Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::5957:f532:6c3:73a5%3
   IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.9
   Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
   Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1


Notice the line I highlighted in yellow. This will be the IP address you
want your sister to use to connect with in her client. You must have this
information for any LAN client to connect to your game server. This address
will vary depending on your wideband router and computer installations.
You can disregard any IPv6 information, Q2 doesn't do IPv6.

If you are connecting your client to the server and your client is the same
computer your life is much easier. The command is:
connect localhost

You will both now be able to play the game you selected. Use Alt-Tab
to toggle between your game window and your server console, you can
command gamemap changes or other commands in the server console.
Another method is via the game client console via the 'rcon' command
and this requires you to have selected and set an rcon_password in
your server.cfg.

Once you have connected clients a status command will respond with
something like this:
map              : q2dm1
num score ping name            lastmsg ip address            rate/pps ver
--- ----- ---- --------------- ------- --------------------- -------- ---
  0     0    1 QwazyWabbit           0 127.0.0.1:17616       8.0K/  9  35
  1     0    1 Frag_Me               0 127.0.0.1:5972        8.0K/ 11  35



When you are done playing the game and have disconnected your
clients, you can type quit in the server console to stop the server.

Good luck.
« Last Edit: April 10, 2017, 10:56:47 AM by QwazyWabbit »
  • Insightful
    Informative
    Funny
    Nice Job / Good Work
    Rock On
    Flawless Logic
    Well-Reasoned Argument and/or Conclusion
    Demonstrates Exceptional Knowlege of the Game
    Appears Not to Comprehend Game Fundamentals
    Frag of the Week
    Frag Hall of Fame
    Jump of the Week
    Jump Hall of Fame
    Best Solution
    Wins The Internet
    Whoosh! You done missed the joke thar Cletus!
    Obvious Troll Is Obvious
    DO YOU EVEN LIFT?
    DEMO OR STFU
    Offtopic
    Flamebait
    Redundant
    Factually Challenged
    Preposterously Irrational Arguments
    Blindingly Obvious Logical Fallacies
    Absurd Misconstrual of Scientific Principles or Evidence
    Amazing Conspiracy Theory Bro
    Racist Ignoramus

Offline Muerte

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 320
    • View Profile
  • Rated:
Re: Cant play versus with my friends
« Reply #2 on: April 10, 2017, 06:28:39 PM »
To launch a dedicated server in Windows, launch a cmd window, then navigate it
to the folder containing your Quake 2 executables then type:
quake2 +set dedicated 1 +set game modname +exec server.cfg
Where "quake2" is the name of the executable. This can also be q2pro.exe

imho its much easier to create batch file  server.bat in quake2 folder with command line in it
quake2 +set dedicated 1 +set game modname +exec server.cfg
and drop shortcut to desktop (mine in attachment)

also r1q2 have dedicated.exe for server same as q2pro q2proded.exe (both in attachment)

btw nice detailed manual
  • Insightful
    Informative
    Funny
    Nice Job / Good Work
    Rock On
    Flawless Logic
    Well-Reasoned Argument and/or Conclusion
    Demonstrates Exceptional Knowlege of the Game
    Appears Not to Comprehend Game Fundamentals
    Frag of the Week
    Frag Hall of Fame
    Jump of the Week
    Jump Hall of Fame
    Best Solution
    Wins The Internet
    Whoosh! You done missed the joke thar Cletus!
    Obvious Troll Is Obvious
    DO YOU EVEN LIFT?
    DEMO OR STFU
    Offtopic
    Flamebait
    Redundant
    Factually Challenged
    Preposterously Irrational Arguments
    Blindingly Obvious Logical Fallacies
    Absurd Misconstrual of Scientific Principles or Evidence
    Amazing Conspiracy Theory Bro
    Racist Ignoramus

Offline QwazyWabbit

  • Carpal Tunnel Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 1231
    • View Profile
  • Rated:
Re: Cant play versus with my friends
« Reply #3 on: April 11, 2017, 12:05:52 AM »
Batch file is always a good idea but I was focused on the principles first and it hadn't occurred to me.

I'm not sure she has the dedicated modules but I knew she had the clients.

  • Insightful
    Informative
    Funny
    Nice Job / Good Work
    Rock On
    Flawless Logic
    Well-Reasoned Argument and/or Conclusion
    Demonstrates Exceptional Knowlege of the Game
    Appears Not to Comprehend Game Fundamentals
    Frag of the Week
    Frag Hall of Fame
    Jump of the Week
    Jump Hall of Fame
    Best Solution
    Wins The Internet
    Whoosh! You done missed the joke thar Cletus!
    Obvious Troll Is Obvious
    DO YOU EVEN LIFT?
    DEMO OR STFU
    Offtopic
    Flamebait
    Redundant
    Factually Challenged
    Preposterously Irrational Arguments
    Blindingly Obvious Logical Fallacies
    Absurd Misconstrual of Scientific Principles or Evidence
    Amazing Conspiracy Theory Bro
    Racist Ignoramus

Offline Muerte

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 320
    • View Profile
  • Rated:
Re: Cant play versus with my friends
« Reply #4 on: April 11, 2017, 04:32:53 AM »
Batch file is always a good idea but I was focused on the principles first and it hadn't occurred to me.

I'm not sure she has the dedicated modules but I knew she had the clients.

It was not my intention to undermine your very nice and  detailed  manual

just added in attachment dedicated servers exe r1q2 and q2pro and example of batch file

  • Insightful
    Informative
    Funny
    Nice Job / Good Work
    Rock On
    Flawless Logic
    Well-Reasoned Argument and/or Conclusion
    Demonstrates Exceptional Knowlege of the Game
    Appears Not to Comprehend Game Fundamentals
    Frag of the Week
    Frag Hall of Fame
    Jump of the Week
    Jump Hall of Fame
    Best Solution
    Wins The Internet
    Whoosh! You done missed the joke thar Cletus!
    Obvious Troll Is Obvious
    DO YOU EVEN LIFT?
    DEMO OR STFU
    Offtopic
    Flamebait
    Redundant
    Factually Challenged
    Preposterously Irrational Arguments
    Blindingly Obvious Logical Fallacies
    Absurd Misconstrual of Scientific Principles or Evidence
    Amazing Conspiracy Theory Bro
    Racist Ignoramus

Offline QwazyWabbit

  • Carpal Tunnel Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 1231
    • View Profile
  • Rated:
Re: Cant play versus with my friends
« Reply #5 on: April 11, 2017, 03:54:41 PM »
Batch file is always a good idea but I was focused on the principles first and it hadn't occurred to me.

I'm not sure she has the dedicated modules but I knew she had the clients.

It was not my intention to undermine your very nice and  detailed  manual

just added in attachment dedicated servers exe r1q2 and q2pro and example of batch file

I understand, I didn't take it as a criticism, I was merely explaining why I didn't think of it at the time.
  • Insightful
    Informative
    Funny
    Nice Job / Good Work
    Rock On
    Flawless Logic
    Well-Reasoned Argument and/or Conclusion
    Demonstrates Exceptional Knowlege of the Game
    Appears Not to Comprehend Game Fundamentals
    Frag of the Week
    Frag Hall of Fame
    Jump of the Week
    Jump Hall of Fame
    Best Solution
    Wins The Internet
    Whoosh! You done missed the joke thar Cletus!
    Obvious Troll Is Obvious
    DO YOU EVEN LIFT?
    DEMO OR STFU
    Offtopic
    Flamebait
    Redundant
    Factually Challenged
    Preposterously Irrational Arguments
    Blindingly Obvious Logical Fallacies
    Absurd Misconstrual of Scientific Principles or Evidence
    Amazing Conspiracy Theory Bro
    Racist Ignoramus

JynErso

  • Guest
Re: Cant play versus with my friends
« Reply #6 on: April 12, 2017, 08:58:46 PM »
Thank you both.
I dont want a server, just to play with my sister.
I am sure that your explanation is very didactic and I thank you for your time, but I do not understand much about technical aspects of programming.-
The subject is I cant play the maps like they appear on Tastyspleen servers.
Weapons are different and sometimes all is different.

I also have made this post: http://forum.tastyspleen.net/quake/index.php?topic=22307.0
  • Insightful
    Informative
    Funny
    Nice Job / Good Work
    Rock On
    Flawless Logic
    Well-Reasoned Argument and/or Conclusion
    Demonstrates Exceptional Knowlege of the Game
    Appears Not to Comprehend Game Fundamentals
    Frag of the Week
    Frag Hall of Fame
    Jump of the Week
    Jump Hall of Fame
    Best Solution
    Wins The Internet
    Whoosh! You done missed the joke thar Cletus!
    Obvious Troll Is Obvious
    DO YOU EVEN LIFT?
    DEMO OR STFU
    Offtopic
    Flamebait
    Redundant
    Factually Challenged
    Preposterously Irrational Arguments
    Blindingly Obvious Logical Fallacies
    Absurd Misconstrual of Scientific Principles or Evidence
    Amazing Conspiracy Theory Bro
    Racist Ignoramus

 

El Box de Shoutamente

Last 10 Shouts:

 

quadz

February 16, 2019, 01:51:11 PM
I don't recall the specifics of q2max_hires_textures.pak (from 2006) but if you right-click on the link your browser should have a "Save as..." option.
 

Shogun

February 16, 2019, 11:29:05 AM
Hey Quadz, I just checked the downloads (q2 max hires texture pak.) was looking for a pak that makes q2 a bit more hd or just better. Is there such a thing? and when I click on that it takes me to a page of coding.
 

quadz

February 15, 2019, 11:05:07 PM
@Booya — thanks, hopefully the stats are fixed now.

QwazyWabbit

February 10, 2019, 10:39:53 PM
I had same symptoms -=[AZ]=- complained about. Message was "your session expired while posting". Cure was to log in via the LOGIN link via the top menu on the forum and log in there, checking the "always stay logged in" box. Client was Edge browser.
 

Booya

February 08, 2019, 05:33:57 AM
Looks like the servers have not been recording player stats since November?   http://tastyspleen.net/quake/stats/
 

-=[AZ]=-

February 03, 2019, 04:21:32 PM
When I attempt to login from the main page it says session has expired every time. I have to go to the login page in order to sign in every time.
 

Tom Servo

January 31, 2019, 07:33:27 PM
Ahhh ok something tells me your into breakfast.
 

Waffle Whiffer

January 31, 2019, 08:57:33 AM
I’m eggs. But don’t tell anybody.   :D
 

Tom Servo

January 30, 2019, 07:07:02 PM
Waffle wiffer!!! Wish I knew who you were in actual game. lol jk you don't have to reveal yourself.
 

Waffle Whiffer

January 30, 2019, 07:04:35 AM
Vortex is here. Stay inside, drink lots of whiskey and frag frequently.

Show 50 latest
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
February 18, 2019, 09:06:40 PM

Login with username, password and session length