Author Topic: Binds/Aliases  (Read 35520 times)

Offline |iR|Focalor

  • Irrepressibly Profuse Member
  • *
  • Posts: 13110
  • OFFO
    • View Profile
    • Focalor's Lair @ Tastyspleen.net
  • Rated:
Re: Binds/Aliases
« Reply #105 on: June 18, 2009, 12:35:44 PM »
That's really more complicated than it needs to be. All you'd really need is something like:

bind mwheelup "fov 40; sensitivity 1"
bind mwheeldown "fov 110; sensitivity 5"

Of course you'd have to tweak the FOV and mouse sensitivity settings to suit you, but that's the general idea.

I used to have a bind like this, but since I have the mouse wheel button (mouse3) set for crouch, I'd try crouching and flip zooms sometimes, so I just got rid of it completely. It's really not necessary. If you're good enough with railgun anyway, there isn't much need for it.
  • Insightful
    Informative
    Funny
    Nice Job / Good Work
    Rock On
    Flawless Logic
    Well-Reasoned Argument and/or Conclusion
    Demonstrates Exceptional Knowlege of the Game
    Appears Not to Comprehend Game Fundamentals
    Frag of the Week
    Frag Hall of Fame
    Jump of the Week
    Jump Hall of Fame
    Best Solution
    Wins The Internet
    Whoosh! You done missed the joke thar Cletus!
    Obvious Troll Is Obvious
    DO YOU EVEN LIFT?
    DEMO OR STFU
    Offtopic
    Flamebait
    Redundant
    Factually Challenged
    Preposterously Irrational Arguments
    Blindingly Obvious Logical Fallacies
    Absurd Misconstrual of Scientific Principles or Evidence
    Amazing Conspiracy Theory Bro
    Racist Ignoramus

Offline Barton

  • Carpal Tunnel Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 1716
    • View Profile
  • Rated:
Re: Binds/Aliases
« Reply #106 on: June 19, 2009, 01:30:04 AM »
That's really more complicated than it needs to be. All you'd really need is something like:

bind mwheelup "fov 40; sensitivity 1"
bind mwheeldown "fov 110; sensitivity 5"

Of course you'd have to tweak the FOV and mouse sensitivity settings to suit you, but that's the general idea.

I used to have a bind like this, but since I have the mouse wheel button (mouse3) set for crouch, I'd try crouching and flip zooms sometimes, so I just got rid of it completely. It's really not necessary. If you're good enough with railgun anyway, there isn't much need for it.

I prefer actually to have one button that can toggle zoom on and off,  because my mouse does not have side buttons and the mouse wheel is broken.


« Last Edit: June 19, 2009, 01:31:39 AM by ppoint432 »
  • Insightful
    Informative
    Funny
    Nice Job / Good Work
    Rock On
    Flawless Logic
    Well-Reasoned Argument and/or Conclusion
    Demonstrates Exceptional Knowlege of the Game
    Appears Not to Comprehend Game Fundamentals
    Frag of the Week
    Frag Hall of Fame
    Jump of the Week
    Jump Hall of Fame
    Best Solution
    Wins The Internet
    Whoosh! You done missed the joke thar Cletus!
    Obvious Troll Is Obvious
    DO YOU EVEN LIFT?
    DEMO OR STFU
    Offtopic
    Flamebait
    Redundant
    Factually Challenged
    Preposterously Irrational Arguments
    Blindingly Obvious Logical Fallacies
    Absurd Misconstrual of Scientific Principles or Evidence
    Amazing Conspiracy Theory Bro
    Racist Ignoramus

Offline |iR|Focalor

  • Irrepressibly Profuse Member
  • *
  • Posts: 13110
  • OFFO
    • View Profile
    • Focalor's Lair @ Tastyspleen.net
  • Rated:
Re: Binds/Aliases
« Reply #107 on: June 19, 2009, 08:42:57 AM »
Sometimes I get pissed and use mine as a hammer, which is why my mouse wheel doesn't work. I really don't need it scroll through weapons or zooms. I have all the weapons on the number pad keys so that I can slide the keyboard over and use the arrow keys for movement and have more room on the desktop to move the mouse around. I can use a lower sensitivity and be pretty precise about where I aim, so I don't really need the zoom. I'd like to find another regular two button with clickable mouse wheel, something that wont get feedback in the laser from the desktop which is what caused me to use the mouse as a hammer to begin with.
  • Insightful
    Informative
    Funny
    Nice Job / Good Work
    Rock On
    Flawless Logic
    Well-Reasoned Argument and/or Conclusion
    Demonstrates Exceptional Knowlege of the Game
    Appears Not to Comprehend Game Fundamentals
    Frag of the Week
    Frag Hall of Fame
    Jump of the Week
    Jump Hall of Fame
    Best Solution
    Wins The Internet
    Whoosh! You done missed the joke thar Cletus!
    Obvious Troll Is Obvious
    DO YOU EVEN LIFT?
    DEMO OR STFU
    Offtopic
    Flamebait
    Redundant
    Factually Challenged
    Preposterously Irrational Arguments
    Blindingly Obvious Logical Fallacies
    Absurd Misconstrual of Scientific Principles or Evidence
    Amazing Conspiracy Theory Bro
    Racist Ignoramus

Offline QwazyWabbit

  • Carpal Tunnel Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 1241
    • View Profile
  • Rated:
Re: Binds/Aliases
« Reply #108 on: June 19, 2009, 09:05:58 AM »
Sometimes I get pissed and use mine as a hammer, which is why my mouse wheel doesn't work. I really don't need it scroll through weapons or zooms. I have all the weapons on the number pad keys so that I can slide the keyboard over and use the arrow keys for movement and have more room on the desktop to move the mouse around. I can use a lower sensitivity and be pretty precise about where I aim, so I don't really need the zoom. I'd like to find another regular two button with clickable mouse wheel, something that wont get feedback in the laser from the desktop which is what caused me to use the mouse as a hammer to begin with.

Logitech V450 Laser, USB cordless. Works good on fake woodgrain desktops and any mousepad. Two AA batteries last a good long time, I use mine every day, all day and they're good for 8+ months. LED on top is green at powerup, dark when in use and red when batteries are low, making installation of the drivers largely unnecessary but nice to have. As long as the desktop isn't reflective or glass it's great.

Get the extra large jumbo mouse pads or make your own from fabric bonded to neoprene foam sheet, same as used for wet suits.
  • Insightful
    Informative
    Funny
    Nice Job / Good Work
    Rock On
    Flawless Logic
    Well-Reasoned Argument and/or Conclusion
    Demonstrates Exceptional Knowlege of the Game
    Appears Not to Comprehend Game Fundamentals
    Frag of the Week
    Frag Hall of Fame
    Jump of the Week
    Jump Hall of Fame
    Best Solution
    Wins The Internet
    Whoosh! You done missed the joke thar Cletus!
    Obvious Troll Is Obvious
    DO YOU EVEN LIFT?
    DEMO OR STFU
    Offtopic
    Flamebait
    Redundant
    Factually Challenged
    Preposterously Irrational Arguments
    Blindingly Obvious Logical Fallacies
    Absurd Misconstrual of Scientific Principles or Evidence
    Amazing Conspiracy Theory Bro
    Racist Ignoramus

Offline |iR|Focalor

  • Irrepressibly Profuse Member
  • *
  • Posts: 13110
  • OFFO
    • View Profile
    • Focalor's Lair @ Tastyspleen.net
  • Rated:
Re: Binds/Aliases
« Reply #109 on: June 20, 2009, 07:33:59 PM »
I don't want a cordless. I have one, it's too sensitive.
  • Insightful
    Informative
    Funny
    Nice Job / Good Work
    Rock On
    Flawless Logic
    Well-Reasoned Argument and/or Conclusion
    Demonstrates Exceptional Knowlege of the Game
    Appears Not to Comprehend Game Fundamentals
    Frag of the Week
    Frag Hall of Fame
    Jump of the Week
    Jump Hall of Fame
    Best Solution
    Wins The Internet
    Whoosh! You done missed the joke thar Cletus!
    Obvious Troll Is Obvious
    DO YOU EVEN LIFT?
    DEMO OR STFU
    Offtopic
    Flamebait
    Redundant
    Factually Challenged
    Preposterously Irrational Arguments
    Blindingly Obvious Logical Fallacies
    Absurd Misconstrual of Scientific Principles or Evidence
    Amazing Conspiracy Theory Bro
    Racist Ignoramus

Offline paradisel0st

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 442
  • :avatarking:
    • View Profile
  • Rated:
Re: Binds/Aliases
« Reply #110 on: August 13, 2009, 09:08:44 AM »
Overall I'd say my most useful bind is

bind mouse3 ":>"
 :frag:

  • Insightful
    Informative
    Funny
    Nice Job / Good Work
    Rock On
    Flawless Logic
    Well-Reasoned Argument and/or Conclusion
    Demonstrates Exceptional Knowlege of the Game
    Appears Not to Comprehend Game Fundamentals
    Frag of the Week
    Frag Hall of Fame
    Jump of the Week
    Jump Hall of Fame
    Best Solution
    Wins The Internet
    Whoosh! You done missed the joke thar Cletus!
    Obvious Troll Is Obvious
    DO YOU EVEN LIFT?
    DEMO OR STFU
    Offtopic
    Flamebait
    Redundant
    Factually Challenged
    Preposterously Irrational Arguments
    Blindingly Obvious Logical Fallacies
    Absurd Misconstrual of Scientific Principles or Evidence
    Amazing Conspiracy Theory Bro
    Racist Ignoramus
Reaper :fusign2: :D

Reaper :tooth: "Praise Jesus!!!"
 
I"m not sure what this obsession with evidence is

Offline [BTF] Reflex

  • Loquaciously Multiloquent Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 5291
  • !
    • View Profile
  • Rated:
Re: Binds/Aliases
« Reply #111 on: August 13, 2009, 12:52:58 PM »
I bound that to f


Mouse 3 if for chain motherfuker
  • Insightful
    Informative
    Funny
    Nice Job / Good Work
    Rock On
    Flawless Logic
    Well-Reasoned Argument and/or Conclusion
    Demonstrates Exceptional Knowlege of the Game
    Appears Not to Comprehend Game Fundamentals
    Frag of the Week
    Frag Hall of Fame
    Jump of the Week
    Jump Hall of Fame
    Best Solution
    Wins The Internet
    Whoosh! You done missed the joke thar Cletus!
    Obvious Troll Is Obvious
    DO YOU EVEN LIFT?
    DEMO OR STFU
    Offtopic
    Flamebait
    Redundant
    Factually Challenged
    Preposterously Irrational Arguments
    Blindingly Obvious Logical Fallacies
    Absurd Misconstrual of Scientific Principles or Evidence
    Amazing Conspiracy Theory Bro
    Racist Ignoramus
Sometimes I think it’s a sin when I feel like I’m winnin’ when I’m losin’ again

Offline Prophet

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 147
    • View Profile
    • Gravedweller
  • Rated:
Re: Binds/Aliases
« Reply #112 on: July 05, 2010, 01:27:46 PM »
I don't want a cordless. I have one, it's too sensitive.

I found this to be true as well.  I have a wireless and its just not as good as my wired optic mouse.
  • Insightful
    Informative
    Funny
    Nice Job / Good Work
    Rock On
    Flawless Logic
    Well-Reasoned Argument and/or Conclusion
    Demonstrates Exceptional Knowlege of the Game
    Appears Not to Comprehend Game Fundamentals
    Frag of the Week
    Frag Hall of Fame
    Jump of the Week
    Jump Hall of Fame
    Best Solution
    Wins The Internet
    Whoosh! You done missed the joke thar Cletus!
    Obvious Troll Is Obvious
    DO YOU EVEN LIFT?
    DEMO OR STFU
    Offtopic
    Flamebait
    Redundant
    Factually Challenged
    Preposterously Irrational Arguments
    Blindingly Obvious Logical Fallacies
    Absurd Misconstrual of Scientific Principles or Evidence
    Amazing Conspiracy Theory Bro
    Racist Ignoramus
They call me Prophet...Dirty Prophet....PUNK!

Offline erik

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 187
    • View Profile
  • Rated:
Re: Binds/Aliases
« Reply #113 on: February 19, 2011, 08:08:17 AM »
Can somebody help me with alias?  I placed it my baseq2 folder as "demo.cfg"  I open quake2, enter console, and type exec demo.cfg, and then demomap demo1.dm2....when I go to hit rightarrow or leftarrow, it enters the menu, doesn't do anything with timescale.  Do I need to be using r1q2 or something for this to work?  I am in 3.21 (mac)



alias speedup "speed6"
alias slowdown "speed4"

alias speed1 "timescale 0.2; alias speedup speed2; echo 1/5 SPEED, CAN'T GO SLOWER!"
alias speed2 "timescale 0.4; alias speedup speed3; alias slowdown speed1; echo 2/5X SPEED"
alias speed3 "timescale 0.6; alias speedup speed4; alias slowdown speed2; echo 3/5X SPEED"
alias speed4 "timescale 0.8; alias speedup speed5; alias slowdown speed3; echo 4/5X SPEED"
alias speed5 "timescale 1.0; alias speedup speed6; alias slowdown speed4; echo NORMAL SPEED"
alias speed6 "timescale 1.2; alias speedup speed7; alias slowdown speed5; echo 6/5X SPEED"
alias speed7 "timescale 1.4; alias speedup speed8; alias slowdown speed6; echo 7/5X SPEED"
alias speed8 "timescale 1.6; alias speedup speed9; alias slowdown speed7; echo 8/5X SPEED"
alias speed9 "timescale 1.8; alias speedup speed10; alias slowdown speed8; echo 9/5X SPEED"
alias speed10 "timescale 2.0; alias speedup speed11; alias slowdown speed9; echo 2X SPEED"
alias speed11 "timescale 2.5; alias speedup speed12; alias slowdown speed10; echo 2.5X SPEED"
alias speed12 "timescale 3.0; alias speedup speed13; alias slowdown speed11; echo 3X SPEED"
alias speed13 "timescale 3.5; alias speedup speed14; alias slowdown speed12; echo 3.5X SPEED"
alias speed14 "timescale 4.5; alias speedup speed15; alias slowdown speed13; echo 4.5X SPEED"
alias speed15 "timescale 6.0; alias speedup speed16; alias slowdown speed14; echo 6X SPEED"
alias speed16 "timescale 8.0; alias speedup speed17; alias slowdown speed15; echo 8X SPEED"
alias speed17 "timescale 10.0; alias slowdown speed16; echo 10X SPEED, CAN'T GO FASTER!"


bind RIGHTARROW speedup
bind LEFTARROW slowdown
  • Insightful
    Informative
    Funny
    Nice Job / Good Work
    Rock On
    Flawless Logic
    Well-Reasoned Argument and/or Conclusion
    Demonstrates Exceptional Knowlege of the Game
    Appears Not to Comprehend Game Fundamentals
    Frag of the Week
    Frag Hall of Fame
    Jump of the Week
    Jump Hall of Fame
    Best Solution
    Wins The Internet
    Whoosh! You done missed the joke thar Cletus!
    Obvious Troll Is Obvious
    DO YOU EVEN LIFT?
    DEMO OR STFU
    Offtopic
    Flamebait
    Redundant
    Factually Challenged
    Preposterously Irrational Arguments
    Blindingly Obvious Logical Fallacies
    Absurd Misconstrual of Scientific Principles or Evidence
    Amazing Conspiracy Theory Bro
    Racist Ignoramus

Offline [BTF] Reflex

  • Loquaciously Multiloquent Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 5291
  • !
    • View Profile
  • Rated:
Re: Binds/Aliases
« Reply #114 on: February 20, 2011, 06:24:09 PM »
Can't help with the script,  but I only have 2 binds for speed of playback.

one for really fast and one for really slow.


 alias +ff timescale 100
 alias -ff "set timescale 1"
 bind F8 "+ff"

 alias +ss timescale .1"
 alias -ss "set timescale 1"
 bind F9 "+ss"


Wasn't remotely what I expected to find when I went to clip it out,  been so long since I did my cfg :)
  • Insightful
    Informative
    Funny
    Nice Job / Good Work
    Rock On
    Flawless Logic
    Well-Reasoned Argument and/or Conclusion
    Demonstrates Exceptional Knowlege of the Game
    Appears Not to Comprehend Game Fundamentals
    Frag of the Week
    Frag Hall of Fame
    Jump of the Week
    Jump Hall of Fame
    Best Solution
    Wins The Internet
    Whoosh! You done missed the joke thar Cletus!
    Obvious Troll Is Obvious
    DO YOU EVEN LIFT?
    DEMO OR STFU
    Offtopic
    Flamebait
    Redundant
    Factually Challenged
    Preposterously Irrational Arguments
    Blindingly Obvious Logical Fallacies
    Absurd Misconstrual of Scientific Principles or Evidence
    Amazing Conspiracy Theory Bro
    Racist Ignoramus
Sometimes I think it’s a sin when I feel like I’m winnin’ when I’m losin’ again

Offline Grunt ...

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
  • Rated:
Re: Binds/Aliases
« Reply #115 on: February 20, 2011, 09:37:03 PM »
Hi

I'm looking for a way to automatically record a demo every game i play , but unlike R1Q2's cl_autorecord command , i want the demo to record on the same file over and over every new game , so i end up with only one file , is this possible ?

 :???:
  • Insightful
    Informative
    Funny
    Nice Job / Good Work
    Rock On
    Flawless Logic
    Well-Reasoned Argument and/or Conclusion
    Demonstrates Exceptional Knowlege of the Game
    Appears Not to Comprehend Game Fundamentals
    Frag of the Week
    Frag Hall of Fame
    Jump of the Week
    Jump Hall of Fame
    Best Solution
    Wins The Internet
    Whoosh! You done missed the joke thar Cletus!
    Obvious Troll Is Obvious
    DO YOU EVEN LIFT?
    DEMO OR STFU
    Offtopic
    Flamebait
    Redundant
    Factually Challenged
    Preposterously Irrational Arguments
    Blindingly Obvious Logical Fallacies
    Absurd Misconstrual of Scientific Principles or Evidence
    Amazing Conspiracy Theory Bro
    Racist Ignoramus

Offline VaeVictis

  • i was -1 because you fucking suck
  • Brobdingnagian Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4460
    • View Profile
  • Rated:
Re: Binds/Aliases
« Reply #116 on: February 20, 2011, 09:59:53 PM »
Hi

I'm looking for a way to automatically record a demo every game i play , but unlike R1Q2's cl_autorecord command , i want the demo to record on the same file over and over every new game , so i end up with only one file , is this possible ?

 :???:

bind a key to record to a specific file name and hit that key every game you play :p will over write the file with the same name on the new record...

but that still requires hitting a key every time... you cant actually auto record in that sense

the only autorecord feature built into clients is fairly useless imo :( lacks options 
  • Insightful
    Informative
    Funny
    Nice Job / Good Work
    Rock On
    Flawless Logic
    Well-Reasoned Argument and/or Conclusion
    Demonstrates Exceptional Knowlege of the Game
    Appears Not to Comprehend Game Fundamentals
    Frag of the Week
    Frag Hall of Fame
    Jump of the Week
    Jump Hall of Fame
    Best Solution
    Wins The Internet
    Whoosh! You done missed the joke thar Cletus!
    Obvious Troll Is Obvious
    DO YOU EVEN LIFT?
    DEMO OR STFU
    Offtopic
    Flamebait
    Redundant
    Factually Challenged
    Preposterously Irrational Arguments
    Blindingly Obvious Logical Fallacies
    Absurd Misconstrual of Scientific Principles or Evidence
    Amazing Conspiracy Theory Bro
    Racist Ignoramus

Offline Grunt ...

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
  • Rated:
Re: Binds/Aliases
« Reply #117 on: February 20, 2011, 10:41:24 PM »
Thanks !

 :notworthy:
  • Insightful
    Informative
    Funny
    Nice Job / Good Work
    Rock On
    Flawless Logic
    Well-Reasoned Argument and/or Conclusion
    Demonstrates Exceptional Knowlege of the Game
    Appears Not to Comprehend Game Fundamentals
    Frag of the Week
    Frag Hall of Fame
    Jump of the Week
    Jump Hall of Fame
    Best Solution
    Wins The Internet
    Whoosh! You done missed the joke thar Cletus!
    Obvious Troll Is Obvious
    DO YOU EVEN LIFT?
    DEMO OR STFU
    Offtopic
    Flamebait
    Redundant
    Factually Challenged
    Preposterously Irrational Arguments
    Blindingly Obvious Logical Fallacies
    Absurd Misconstrual of Scientific Principles or Evidence
    Amazing Conspiracy Theory Bro
    Racist Ignoramus

Offline Zeppelin

  • Carpal Tunnel Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 1116
  • aka Cajmere
    • View Profile
  • Rated:
Re: Binds/Aliases
« Reply #118 on: August 31, 2011, 10:14:49 PM »
Hi

I'm looking for a way to automatically record a demo every game i play , but unlike R1Q2's cl_autorecord command , i want the demo to record on the same file over and over every new game , so i end up with only one file , is this possible ?

 :???:

does it work?

set cl_beginmapcmd "record <name>"
« Last Edit: September 01, 2011, 10:38:59 AM by Zeppelin »
  • Insightful
    Informative
    Funny
    Nice Job / Good Work
    Rock On
    Flawless Logic
    Well-Reasoned Argument and/or Conclusion
    Demonstrates Exceptional Knowlege of the Game
    Appears Not to Comprehend Game Fundamentals
    Frag of the Week
    Frag Hall of Fame
    Jump of the Week
    Jump Hall of Fame
    Best Solution
    Wins The Internet
    Whoosh! You done missed the joke thar Cletus!
    Obvious Troll Is Obvious
    DO YOU EVEN LIFT?
    DEMO OR STFU
    Offtopic
    Flamebait
    Redundant
    Factually Challenged
    Preposterously Irrational Arguments
    Blindingly Obvious Logical Fallacies
    Absurd Misconstrual of Scientific Principles or Evidence
    Amazing Conspiracy Theory Bro
    Racist Ignoramus

Offline Zeppelin

  • Carpal Tunnel Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 1116
  • aka Cajmere
    • View Profile
  • Rated:
Re: Binds/Aliases
« Reply #119 on: September 01, 2011, 06:25:40 PM »
btw

is there any command to disable a pak?
so i dont have to close client, remove the pak and open the client again to go to a more restrict server like DF  :evilgrin:
  • Insightful
    Informative
    Funny
    Nice Job / Good Work
    Rock On
    Flawless Logic
    Well-Reasoned Argument and/or Conclusion
    Demonstrates Exceptional Knowlege of the Game
    Appears Not to Comprehend Game Fundamentals
    Frag of the Week
    Frag Hall of Fame
    Jump of the Week
    Jump Hall of Fame
    Best Solution
    Wins The Internet
    Whoosh! You done missed the joke thar Cletus!
    Obvious Troll Is Obvious
    DO YOU EVEN LIFT?
    DEMO OR STFU
    Offtopic
    Flamebait
    Redundant
    Factually Challenged
    Preposterously Irrational Arguments
    Blindingly Obvious Logical Fallacies
    Absurd Misconstrual of Scientific Principles or Evidence
    Amazing Conspiracy Theory Bro
    Racist Ignoramus

 

El Box de Shoutamente

Last 10 Shouts:

 

Waffle Whiffer

July 26, 2019, 02:07:17 PM
It is a work of art. Love it! I will post a selfie soon:-)
 

The Dreaming Dragon

July 26, 2019, 08:40:01 AM
Um,Waffle Whiffer?

Is it...okay?

QwazyWabbit

July 07, 2019, 12:04:38 AM
 

The Dreaming Dragon

July 06, 2019, 05:27:25 AM
How do you get to the personal webpages that this site hosts? I need to find mine.
 

Shogun

June 28, 2019, 09:50:27 AM
Rectum! Damn near killed em! hahahahahaha

 

Shogun

June 15, 2019, 08:10:43 PM
Whose Franlkin? Players aliasing this day in age. haha
 

quadz

June 10, 2019, 01:51:13 PM
More detailed look at Q2 RTX


https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=r9vXz9-C-AY
 

quadz

June 09, 2019, 07:47:06 PM

[BTF]Defiant!

June 08, 2019, 09:02:37 AM
Good video overview Quadz!

Show 50 latest
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
August 18, 2019, 10:58:49 PM

Login with username, password and session length