Author Topic: Odd problem just started happening with Q2  (Read 1891 times)

Offline ex

  • Carpal Tunnel Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 1338
  • :>
    • View Profile
  • Rated:
Odd problem just started happening with Q2
« on: October 08, 2017, 08:28:22 PM »
Ok this is a weird one.  I can connect to tasty dm server, but every other tastyspleen-specific server I try to connect to, my r1q2 hangs and eventually dies (goes gray with spinning mouse icon and asks me to close the program).  This problem does not occur with any other non-tasty server, including some servers still networked with tasty but not officially tasty (Wallfly idling).

Is anyone else having this issue?  This is very odd and it only started today when I jumped on.  I always load up dm, but I tried to follow someone to tourney earlier and couldn't, tried ctf-match tonight and couldn't.  Any ideas what's up?
  • Insightful
    Informative
    Funny
    Nice Job / Good Work
    Rock On
    Flawless Logic
    Well-Reasoned Argument and/or Conclusion
    Demonstrates Exceptional Knowlege of the Game
    Appears Not to Comprehend Game Fundamentals
    Frag of the Week
    Frag Hall of Fame
    Jump of the Week
    Jump Hall of Fame
    Best Solution
    Wins The Internet
    Whoosh! You done missed the joke thar Cletus!
    Obvious Troll Is Obvious
    DO YOU EVEN LIFT?
    DEMO OR STFU
    Offtopic
    Flamebait
    Redundant
    Factually Challenged
    Preposterously Irrational Arguments
    Blindingly Obvious Logical Fallacies
    Absurd Misconstrual of Scientific Principles or Evidence
    Amazing Conspiracy Theory Bro
    Racist Ignoramus
Quote
VaeVictis:
i find it funny that you even consider grammar a sign of intelligence, that itself is a very uneducated claim

http://alldeadmormonsarenowgay.com/

Offline beaver{KEA}

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 323
  • Join Quake Legacy Mod Revival Discord!
    • View Profile
    • Mod Revival made easy on discord chat!
  • Rated:
Re: Odd problem just started happening with Q2
« Reply #1 on: October 09, 2017, 03:03:26 PM »
do you have anticheat?

i didnt try connecting yesterday when you spoke of the issues.. saw yoda post something similar but he mentioned something about anti cheat.

i connected today to all the servers with no issues... i did see a MOTD that said something about anti cheat...

maybe tastyspleen is enforcing it now

https://antiche.at

add the dll to ur quake2 folder should be able to connect
  • Insightful
    Informative
    Funny
    Nice Job / Good Work
    Rock On
    Flawless Logic
    Well-Reasoned Argument and/or Conclusion
    Demonstrates Exceptional Knowlege of the Game
    Appears Not to Comprehend Game Fundamentals
    Frag of the Week
    Frag Hall of Fame
    Jump of the Week
    Jump Hall of Fame
    Best Solution
    Wins The Internet
    Whoosh! You done missed the joke thar Cletus!
    Obvious Troll Is Obvious
    DO YOU EVEN LIFT?
    DEMO OR STFU
    Offtopic
    Flamebait
    Redundant
    Factually Challenged
    Preposterously Irrational Arguments
    Blindingly Obvious Logical Fallacies
    Absurd Misconstrual of Scientific Principles or Evidence
    Amazing Conspiracy Theory Bro
    Racist Ignoramus
Bring more Life back to your favorite mod! on discord chat!#gloom #vortex #qpong #kots #giex #q2jump #ra2 #wod #wodx #railwarz #LMCTF #LFireCTF #expertctf https://discord.gg/44gk8j9

Offline Admin

  • Administrator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 274
    • View Profile
  • Rated:
Re: Odd problem just started happening with Q2
« Reply #2 on: October 10, 2017, 07:01:57 AM »
Hi,

Quote from: beaver{KEA} on October 09, 2017, 03:03:26 PM
Quote from: beaver{KEA} on October 09, 2017, 03:03:26 PM
i connected today to all the servers with no issues... i did see a MOTD that said something about anti cheat...

maybe tastyspleen is enforcing it now

No policy changes here on the AC front. (Still optional for most subnets.)

Is the problem still occurring?

:exqueezeme:
  • Insightful
    Informative
    Funny
    Nice Job / Good Work
    Rock On
    Flawless Logic
    Well-Reasoned Argument and/or Conclusion
    Demonstrates Exceptional Knowlege of the Game
    Appears Not to Comprehend Game Fundamentals
    Frag of the Week
    Frag Hall of Fame
    Jump of the Week
    Jump Hall of Fame
    Best Solution
    Wins The Internet
    Whoosh! You done missed the joke thar Cletus!
    Obvious Troll Is Obvious
    DO YOU EVEN LIFT?
    DEMO OR STFU
    Offtopic
    Flamebait
    Redundant
    Factually Challenged
    Preposterously Irrational Arguments
    Blindingly Obvious Logical Fallacies
    Absurd Misconstrual of Scientific Principles or Evidence
    Amazing Conspiracy Theory Bro
    Racist Ignoramus

Offline ex

  • Carpal Tunnel Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 1338
  • :>
    • View Profile
  • Rated:
Re: Odd problem just started happening with Q2
« Reply #3 on: October 17, 2017, 04:14:48 PM »
Well I've been playing on the servers Sun-Tues, no problems.  It might just be this computer, it's really old and on its last leg.  BTW, anticheat has always been in my folder, through last weekend when this problem was happening too.

Oh well, thanks for helping guys.   :oksign:
  • Insightful
    Informative
    Funny
    Nice Job / Good Work
    Rock On
    Flawless Logic
    Well-Reasoned Argument and/or Conclusion
    Demonstrates Exceptional Knowlege of the Game
    Appears Not to Comprehend Game Fundamentals
    Frag of the Week
    Frag Hall of Fame
    Jump of the Week
    Jump Hall of Fame
    Best Solution
    Wins The Internet
    Whoosh! You done missed the joke thar Cletus!
    Obvious Troll Is Obvious
    DO YOU EVEN LIFT?
    DEMO OR STFU
    Offtopic
    Flamebait
    Redundant
    Factually Challenged
    Preposterously Irrational Arguments
    Blindingly Obvious Logical Fallacies
    Absurd Misconstrual of Scientific Principles or Evidence
    Amazing Conspiracy Theory Bro
    Racist Ignoramus
Quote
VaeVictis:
i find it funny that you even consider grammar a sign of intelligence, that itself is a very uneducated claim

http://alldeadmormonsarenowgay.com/

Offline Sgt. Dick

  • Brobdingnagian Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 4674
    • View Profile
  • Rated:
Re: Odd problem just started happening with Q2
« Reply #4 on: December 09, 2017, 06:11:47 PM »
I have not been playing for a while because I had issues getting q2 to run correctly and I was too lazy to figure it out.

I was using R1Q2 and it wasn't working so today I decided to just run straight Q2.
I can get Q2 to load but It is not loading my config file.
When I try to join a server it has me named "Player" so I must change my name to get in.
Once I get in, all of the setting are screwed up (probably the default settings).  Video is wrong, freelook is off, always run is off, etc.
In my config file I have my name set to [BTF]IOU, specific weapon keys set, etc. -  so it is not loading. 
The config file is in the baseq2 directory

Any ideas what happened and what I need to do to get Q2 to run the way I have it in my config file.
  • Insightful
    Informative
    Funny
    Nice Job / Good Work
    Rock On
    Flawless Logic
    Well-Reasoned Argument and/or Conclusion
    Demonstrates Exceptional Knowlege of the Game
    Appears Not to Comprehend Game Fundamentals
    Frag of the Week
    Frag Hall of Fame
    Jump of the Week
    Jump Hall of Fame
    Best Solution
    Wins The Internet
    Whoosh! You done missed the joke thar Cletus!
    Obvious Troll Is Obvious
    DO YOU EVEN LIFT?
    DEMO OR STFU
    Offtopic
    Flamebait
    Redundant
    Factually Challenged
    Preposterously Irrational Arguments
    Blindingly Obvious Logical Fallacies
    Absurd Misconstrual of Scientific Principles or Evidence
    Amazing Conspiracy Theory Bro
    Racist Ignoramus
aka IOU

Offline yahoo

  • Opulent Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2230
  • Quake II | Powered by SMF 1.0.9.
    • View Profile
  • Rated:
Re: Odd problem just started happening with Q2
« Reply #5 on: December 09, 2017, 11:48:06 PM »
idk if i understand it correctly but isnt it supposed to be named autoexc.cfg to auto run?

Have your tried doing the command exec myconfig.cfg on the console ?
  • Insightful
    Informative
    Funny
    Nice Job / Good Work
    Rock On
    Flawless Logic
    Well-Reasoned Argument and/or Conclusion
    Demonstrates Exceptional Knowlege of the Game
    Appears Not to Comprehend Game Fundamentals
    Frag of the Week
    Frag Hall of Fame
    Jump of the Week
    Jump Hall of Fame
    Best Solution
    Wins The Internet
    Whoosh! You done missed the joke thar Cletus!
    Obvious Troll Is Obvious
    DO YOU EVEN LIFT?
    DEMO OR STFU
    Offtopic
    Flamebait
    Redundant
    Factually Challenged
    Preposterously Irrational Arguments
    Blindingly Obvious Logical Fallacies
    Absurd Misconstrual of Scientific Principles or Evidence
    Amazing Conspiracy Theory Bro
    Racist Ignoramus
Quake II | Powered by SMF 1.0.9.
© 2001-2005, Lewis Media. All Rights Reserved.

Offline VaeVictis

  • i was -1 because you fucking suck
  • Brobdingnagian Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4460
    • View Profile
  • Rated:
Re: Odd problem just started happening with Q2
« Reply #6 on: December 10, 2017, 12:42:54 AM »
Try removing anticheat. If it works, then you can disable antivirus and put AC back to see if that is causing the issue.

  • Insightful
    Informative
    Funny
    Nice Job / Good Work
    Rock On
    Flawless Logic
    Well-Reasoned Argument and/or Conclusion
    Demonstrates Exceptional Knowlege of the Game
    Appears Not to Comprehend Game Fundamentals
    Frag of the Week
    Frag Hall of Fame
    Jump of the Week
    Jump Hall of Fame
    Best Solution
    Wins The Internet
    Whoosh! You done missed the joke thar Cletus!
    Obvious Troll Is Obvious
    DO YOU EVEN LIFT?
    DEMO OR STFU
    Offtopic
    Flamebait
    Redundant
    Factually Challenged
    Preposterously Irrational Arguments
    Blindingly Obvious Logical Fallacies
    Absurd Misconstrual of Scientific Principles or Evidence
    Amazing Conspiracy Theory Bro
    Racist Ignoramus

Offline |iR|Focalor

  • Irrepressibly Profuse Member
  • *
  • Posts: 13085
  • OFFO
    • View Profile
    • Focalor's Lair @ Tastyspleen.net
  • Rated:
Re: Odd problem just started happening with Q2
« Reply #7 on: December 10, 2017, 04:01:58 PM »
I have not been playing for a while because I had issues getting q2 to run correctly and I was too lazy to figure it out.

I was using R1Q2 and it wasn't working so today I decided to just run straight Q2.
I can get Q2 to load but It is not loading my config file.
When I try to join a server it has me named "Player" so I must change my name to get in.
Once I get in, all of the setting are screwed up (probably the default settings).  Video is wrong, freelook is off, always run is off, etc.
In my config file I have my name set to [BTF]IOU, specific weapon keys set, etc. -  so it is not loading. 
The config file is in the baseq2 directory

Any ideas what happened and what I need to do to get Q2 to run the way I have it in my config file.

Because Q2 and R1q2 are different clients. They use different renderers, and they use different values in the configs. You'll have to make a new exclusive Q2 3.21 config if that's what you're gonna run. It's not gonna feel the same as r1q2 though. My advice would be to stop using AC and just play on r1q2 without it. I think that's what I'm doing now cuz I was getting freezes with AC. You're not gonna cheat are you? I trust you. I think..... slobber didn't email you something did he?

I sometimes play bone-stock Q2 single player with the original from CD UNupdated Q2 client. I have a completely separate named folder for both R1q2 (multiplayer q2) and my stock single player q2. If you're gonna switch clients, I'd also advise creating a separate install folder for whatever client that may be, stock, q2pro, aprq2, whatever. It's smaller to keep everything in one folder because you don't need 2 or 3 of all maps and shit, but it makes figuring out problems like this easier to deal with. Kinda hindsight at the moment, but just for future reference, might be something to consider trying.
  • Insightful
    Informative
    Funny
    Nice Job / Good Work
    Rock On
    Flawless Logic
    Well-Reasoned Argument and/or Conclusion
    Demonstrates Exceptional Knowlege of the Game
    Appears Not to Comprehend Game Fundamentals
    Frag of the Week
    Frag Hall of Fame
    Jump of the Week
    Jump Hall of Fame
    Best Solution
    Wins The Internet
    Whoosh! You done missed the joke thar Cletus!
    Obvious Troll Is Obvious
    DO YOU EVEN LIFT?
    DEMO OR STFU
    Offtopic
    Flamebait
    Redundant
    Factually Challenged
    Preposterously Irrational Arguments
    Blindingly Obvious Logical Fallacies
    Absurd Misconstrual of Scientific Principles or Evidence
    Amazing Conspiracy Theory Bro
    Racist Ignoramus

 

El Box de Shoutamente

Last 10 Shouts:

 

Shogun

June 15, 2019, 08:10:43 PM
Whose Franlkin? Players aliasing this day in age. haha
 

quadz

June 10, 2019, 01:51:13 PM
More detailed look at Q2 RTX


https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=r9vXz9-C-AY
 

quadz

June 09, 2019, 07:47:06 PM

[BTF]Defiant!

June 08, 2019, 09:02:37 AM
Good video overview Quadz!
 

quadz

June 07, 2019, 03:08:21 PM
Reasonably informative Q2 Ray Tracing video:


https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sFhc951RhfI
 

Shogun

June 07, 2019, 12:03:42 PM
I don't have the golden ticket.
 

quadz

June 06, 2019, 03:19:00 PM
Yes, if you're fortunate to have one of the new RTX video cards. (I don't, so I'm watching people stream raytraced Q2 on twitch instead.)
 

Shogun

June 06, 2019, 12:33:55 PM
So I can make my q2 experience better looking with a download???
 

quadz

June 06, 2019, 10:43:00 AM
Raytraced Q2 download/install instructions:

https://steamdb.info/patchnotes/3889015/
 

Zeppelin

June 06, 2019, 02:33:46 AM
rikwad that was a good epitaph! very kind of you!

Show 50 latest
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
June 27, 2019, 05:14:06 AM

Login with username, password and session length