Author Topic: Anticheat for Q2Pro - should I use it?  (Read 2312 times)

Offline beanz

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 74
  • bean$ - QII 1998 to 2002 - back June 2015
    • View Profile
  • Rated:
Anticheat for Q2Pro - should I use it?
« on: July 29, 2015, 06:02:05 AM »
Hi all,

There are a lot of threads about this whole anticheat area, but I've not managed to work out if it's worth using.  I downloaded it, but my virus checker sends it off to quarantine.  I'd rather not accept it and would prefer to just carry on playing Tastyspleen & ACME CTF servers.  There appears to be only one server that won't let me connect without it, anyway.  Also, I have no intention of cheating so it's not because of that ...  :razzberry:

Any thoughts?   :forceac:     bean$ :lol:
  • Insightful
    Informative
    Funny
    Nice Job / Good Work
    Rock On
    Flawless Logic
    Well-Reasoned Argument and/or Conclusion
    Demonstrates Exceptional Knowlege of the Game
    Appears Not to Comprehend Game Fundamentals
    Frag of the Week
    Frag Hall of Fame
    Jump of the Week
    Jump Hall of Fame
    Best Solution
    Wins The Internet
    Whoosh! You done missed the joke thar Cletus!
    Obvious Troll Is Obvious
    DO YOU EVEN LIFT?
    DEMO OR STFU
    Offtopic
    Flamebait
    Redundant
    Factually Challenged
    Preposterously Irrational Arguments
    Blindingly Obvious Logical Fallacies
    Absurd Misconstrual of Scientific Principles or Evidence
    Amazing Conspiracy Theory Bro
    Racist Ignoramus
Everything is going extremely well - HAL 9000

Offline QwazyWabbit

  • Carpal Tunnel Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 1232
    • View Profile
  • Rated:
Re: Anticheat for Q2Pro - should I use it?
« Reply #1 on: July 29, 2015, 04:44:23 PM »
Anticheat is not malware. It uses encryption and compression techniques to make it hack-resistant because cheaters would try to circumvent it if the code was open. Anti-malware software considers these techniques to be potential malware. You can safely tell your anti-virus software to allow Anticheat and pull it out of quarantine.
  • Insightful
    Informative
    Funny
    Nice Job / Good Work
    Rock On
    Flawless Logic
    Well-Reasoned Argument and/or Conclusion
    Demonstrates Exceptional Knowlege of the Game
    Appears Not to Comprehend Game Fundamentals
    Frag of the Week
    Frag Hall of Fame
    Jump of the Week
    Jump Hall of Fame
    Best Solution
    Wins The Internet
    Whoosh! You done missed the joke thar Cletus!
    Obvious Troll Is Obvious
    DO YOU EVEN LIFT?
    DEMO OR STFU
    Offtopic
    Flamebait
    Redundant
    Factually Challenged
    Preposterously Irrational Arguments
    Blindingly Obvious Logical Fallacies
    Absurd Misconstrual of Scientific Principles or Evidence
    Amazing Conspiracy Theory Bro
    Racist Ignoramus

Offline beanz

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 74
  • bean$ - QII 1998 to 2002 - back June 2015
    • View Profile
  • Rated:
Re: Anticheat for Q2Pro - should I use it?
« Reply #2 on: July 30, 2015, 04:08:38 AM »
OK thanks for the reply.  It's safe -   :thumbsup:  One thing though, is it worth using?  Seems most players don't - there are always ' >player< not using anticheat messages when players join.  Just a thought ...   bean$  :evilgrin:
  • Insightful
    Informative
    Funny
    Nice Job / Good Work
    Rock On
    Flawless Logic
    Well-Reasoned Argument and/or Conclusion
    Demonstrates Exceptional Knowlege of the Game
    Appears Not to Comprehend Game Fundamentals
    Frag of the Week
    Frag Hall of Fame
    Jump of the Week
    Jump Hall of Fame
    Best Solution
    Wins The Internet
    Whoosh! You done missed the joke thar Cletus!
    Obvious Troll Is Obvious
    DO YOU EVEN LIFT?
    DEMO OR STFU
    Offtopic
    Flamebait
    Redundant
    Factually Challenged
    Preposterously Irrational Arguments
    Blindingly Obvious Logical Fallacies
    Absurd Misconstrual of Scientific Principles or Evidence
    Amazing Conspiracy Theory Bro
    Racist Ignoramus
Everything is going extremely well - HAL 9000

Offline daffy

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
  • Rated:
Re: Anticheat for Q2Pro - should I use it?
« Reply #3 on: July 31, 2015, 05:10:19 AM »
Does Anticheat work on Win8 and 10?

Offline yahoo

  • Opulent Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2230
  • Quake II | Powered by SMF 1.0.9.
    • View Profile
  • Rated:
Re: Anticheat for Q2Pro - should I use it?
« Reply #4 on: August 01, 2015, 03:56:25 AM »
win8 I think no.
win10 no idea
  • Insightful
    Informative
    Funny
    Nice Job / Good Work
    Rock On
    Flawless Logic
    Well-Reasoned Argument and/or Conclusion
    Demonstrates Exceptional Knowlege of the Game
    Appears Not to Comprehend Game Fundamentals
    Frag of the Week
    Frag Hall of Fame
    Jump of the Week
    Jump Hall of Fame
    Best Solution
    Wins The Internet
    Whoosh! You done missed the joke thar Cletus!
    Obvious Troll Is Obvious
    DO YOU EVEN LIFT?
    DEMO OR STFU
    Offtopic
    Flamebait
    Redundant
    Factually Challenged
    Preposterously Irrational Arguments
    Blindingly Obvious Logical Fallacies
    Absurd Misconstrual of Scientific Principles or Evidence
    Amazing Conspiracy Theory Bro
    Racist Ignoramus
Quake II | Powered by SMF 1.0.9.
© 2001-2005, Lewis Media. All Rights Reserved.

 

El Box de Shoutamente

Last 10 Shouts:

Sgt. Dick

May 21, 2019, 04:07:06 AM
Foc - where are you.
 

quadz

May 18, 2019, 10:21:55 PM
Thanks, yes, system crashed; unknown reason.

Hopefully everything is restarted now.
 

NIN-IceFox

May 18, 2019, 08:56:59 PM
Some servers seem down currently Quadz, don't know if it's just a hiccup that'll fix itself, maintenance or what, but just in case, I mention it.
 

NoBugsOnMe

May 13, 2019, 09:44:19 PM
pm gang rise up
 

quadz

May 10, 2019, 08:27:35 PM
It's always been that if you mymap and disconnect before the map goes live, it's deleted from the queue.

Occasinally, someone will stick around until their map loads, and THEN disconnect, which is not appreciated. (Currently the only recourse is a full mute, as there's no provision for blocking just mymap usage.)

At least these days, the chosen map has to be roughly compatible with the number of players active on the server. (No more mapping sewer64 on a 3-player server; etc.)

Punk_FAS

May 10, 2019, 08:22:02 AM
Any way to prevent people from trolling with mymap? By that I mean they join the server, mymap a map, then immediately discconnect, forcing whoever's playing to play a map that nobody there necessarily wanted to play in the first place. Maybe have it check to see if the player who issued the command
 

R. Hayabusa

May 07, 2019, 10:16:25 PM
it's tradition to play vanila and listen to something like this
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yOSsvue9DM0&t=243s

Punk_FAS

May 07, 2019, 07:44:28 PM
Seems like that did the trick, quadz. I'm sure everyone is happy to have their lower pings back :) Thanks!

0rbisson

May 06, 2019, 08:23:50 PM
Yes it appears to be normal. thanks
 

quadz

May 06, 2019, 01:44:21 PM
OK, they made a routing change that appears to have resolved the issue I was seeing here.

Everyone else's pings back to normal?

Show 50 latest
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
May 23, 2019, 02:02:56 AM

Login with username, password and session length