Author Topic: r1q2 issue  (Read 1564 times)

Offline [BTF] Reflex

  • Loquaciously Multiloquent Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 5291
  • !
    • View Profile
  • Rated:
r1q2 issue
« on: January 08, 2013, 07:44:05 AM »
Connected to mutant today.  After a minute or two I got booted for anticheat violation.
I reconnected and the same thing happened.

Tried tourney1 and it happened there too.  Should have tried tourney4 since I played there the other night just fine..  but I didn't.
On tourney1 when it disconnected me it finally showed what the violation was, modified client.

I ran the r1q2 updater, it did it's thing, I believe it updated r1q2.exe but I wasn't paying enough attention.
Figure it did because I was able to connect just fine.  Played on DM and noticed that all the txt was nothing but white blocks.


I've done some narrowing down.

text looked normal when I started quake, ran a map, and ran around.
text went to white blocks when ran my config.  Running it again crashed/hung r1q2 (twice required for map/item lighting. A more efficient way exists but I'm lazy)

regular quake2.exe everything worked fine, other than mouse movement and having to watch intro...blah blah blah.

r1q2 did the white blocks with or without anticheat loaded

older r1q2's worked fine,  I have one from 07 and one from 06.   There is the issue with my brain knowing it's an older version, and anything that happens wrong with moving around I associate with it being an older version and I start expecting it at every turn...  as well as any other glitches that version might of had.  Example would be while straf jumping along a common run I would stick to the floor (miss one jump) and lose all momentum.   Probably me just missing a click, but it messes with my perception of the game.  TMI...

The only REAL issue with older r1q2's is they are not  AC valid.


So, anyone updated r1q2 recently?
Problem?
or is it something in my config or paks?

I'll attach the config for good measure.  :)
and a pic.  Top is right on startup, bottom is the same screen after I run the config.  b8012.   
If it was ALWAYS white I would know what the issue is, but this is weird.
=p
« Last Edit: January 08, 2013, 07:49:43 AM by [BTF]Preflex »
  • Insightful
    Informative
    Funny
    Nice Job / Good Work
    Rock On
    Flawless Logic
    Well-Reasoned Argument and/or Conclusion
    Demonstrates Exceptional Knowlege of the Game
    Appears Not to Comprehend Game Fundamentals
    Frag of the Week
    Frag Hall of Fame
    Jump of the Week
    Jump Hall of Fame
    Best Solution
    Wins The Internet
    Whoosh! You done missed the joke thar Cletus!
    Obvious Troll Is Obvious
    DO YOU EVEN LIFT?
    DEMO OR STFU
    Offtopic
    Flamebait
    Redundant
    Factually Challenged
    Preposterously Irrational Arguments
    Blindingly Obvious Logical Fallacies
    Absurd Misconstrual of Scientific Principles or Evidence
    Amazing Conspiracy Theory Bro
    Racist Ignoramus
Sometimes I think it’s a sin when I feel like I’m winnin’ when I’m losin’ again

Offline Whirlingdervish

  • Super ShortBus Extravaganza
  • Illimitable Sesquipedalian Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6383
    • View Profile
    • The Dervish Depository
  • Rated:
Re: r1q2 issue
« Reply #1 on: January 08, 2013, 08:16:28 AM »
try this one:

http://ir.tastyspleen.net/files/r1q2_7904.zip

I think this version still works with ac. If it's doing it with 7904 which afaik was the longest running and most tested version, then it's something like your pak file got corrupted.

  • Insightful
    Informative
    Funny
    Nice Job / Good Work
    Rock On
    Flawless Logic
    Well-Reasoned Argument and/or Conclusion
    Demonstrates Exceptional Knowlege of the Game
    Appears Not to Comprehend Game Fundamentals
    Frag of the Week
    Frag Hall of Fame
    Jump of the Week
    Jump Hall of Fame
    Best Solution
    Wins The Internet
    Whoosh! You done missed the joke thar Cletus!
    Obvious Troll Is Obvious
    DO YOU EVEN LIFT?
    DEMO OR STFU
    Offtopic
    Flamebait
    Redundant
    Factually Challenged
    Preposterously Irrational Arguments
    Blindingly Obvious Logical Fallacies
    Absurd Misconstrual of Scientific Principles or Evidence
    Amazing Conspiracy Theory Bro
    Racist Ignoramus

Offline [BTF] Reflex

  • Loquaciously Multiloquent Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 5291
  • !
    • View Profile
  • Rated:
Re: r1q2 issue
« Reply #2 on: January 08, 2013, 10:37:32 AM »
7904 was what I had. That said modified client.

Works fine now, not getting kicked and blocks don't appear when I run cfg.  :beer:


I did some more troubleshooting..

I updated r1q2 again,  is said mine was old (the just installed 7904), it said it was downloading 7904.
when I ran it it was build 8012 again, and did the same block thing.

I removed ALL paks from baseq2 except pak0 and pak1.
ran the game again, was stock text, conchars.pcx.
far as I could tell everything was stock again (shudders)

ran my cfg and the white blocks came back.

I try and find out what in the cfg is triggering it.  But something is screwed on r1q2 if its updating a b7904 to b7904 and actually loading b8012.
Maybe I need to update the updater :)

bbl


Thanks Derv
  • Insightful
    Informative
    Funny
    Nice Job / Good Work
    Rock On
    Flawless Logic
    Well-Reasoned Argument and/or Conclusion
    Demonstrates Exceptional Knowlege of the Game
    Appears Not to Comprehend Game Fundamentals
    Frag of the Week
    Frag Hall of Fame
    Jump of the Week
    Jump Hall of Fame
    Best Solution
    Wins The Internet
    Whoosh! You done missed the joke thar Cletus!
    Obvious Troll Is Obvious
    DO YOU EVEN LIFT?
    DEMO OR STFU
    Offtopic
    Flamebait
    Redundant
    Factually Challenged
    Preposterously Irrational Arguments
    Blindingly Obvious Logical Fallacies
    Absurd Misconstrual of Scientific Principles or Evidence
    Amazing Conspiracy Theory Bro
    Racist Ignoramus
Sometimes I think it’s a sin when I feel like I’m winnin’ when I’m losin’ again

Offline The Happy Friar

  • Opulent Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2088
    • View Profile
    • Fuzzy Logic Inc
  • Rated:
Re: r1q2 issue
« Reply #3 on: January 08, 2013, 11:22:55 AM »
I have 8012 and don't have any blocked (ran the updater a few weeks ago).  Maybe your issues are why my r1q2 doesn't seem to save my video settings any more?
  • Insightful
    Informative
    Funny
    Nice Job / Good Work
    Rock On
    Flawless Logic
    Well-Reasoned Argument and/or Conclusion
    Demonstrates Exceptional Knowlege of the Game
    Appears Not to Comprehend Game Fundamentals
    Frag of the Week
    Frag Hall of Fame
    Jump of the Week
    Jump Hall of Fame
    Best Solution
    Wins The Internet
    Whoosh! You done missed the joke thar Cletus!
    Obvious Troll Is Obvious
    DO YOU EVEN LIFT?
    DEMO OR STFU
    Offtopic
    Flamebait
    Redundant
    Factually Challenged
    Preposterously Irrational Arguments
    Blindingly Obvious Logical Fallacies
    Absurd Misconstrual of Scientific Principles or Evidence
    Amazing Conspiracy Theory Bro
    Racist Ignoramus
q2server.fuzzylogicinc.com
d3server.fuzzylogicinc.com
l33t hacz over yonder.  ;) :)

Offline [BTF] Reflex

  • Loquaciously Multiloquent Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 5291
  • !
    • View Profile
  • Rated:
Re: r1q2 issue
« Reply #4 on: January 08, 2013, 11:58:11 AM »
I don't get blocks either,  until my cfg runs.

I ran it in sections to find out what was doing it.
Thought I nailed it down,  broke it into 4 chunks.
... long story,  didn't figure it out yet.   But I did find a way to crash r1q2 consistently. :D

need more time.

Hopefully I get it before AC doesn't accept 7904 :)

At the risk of goofing your q2 setup, wonder what would happen if you ran my cfg?
  • Insightful
    Informative
    Funny
    Nice Job / Good Work
    Rock On
    Flawless Logic
    Well-Reasoned Argument and/or Conclusion
    Demonstrates Exceptional Knowlege of the Game
    Appears Not to Comprehend Game Fundamentals
    Frag of the Week
    Frag Hall of Fame
    Jump of the Week
    Jump Hall of Fame
    Best Solution
    Wins The Internet
    Whoosh! You done missed the joke thar Cletus!
    Obvious Troll Is Obvious
    DO YOU EVEN LIFT?
    DEMO OR STFU
    Offtopic
    Flamebait
    Redundant
    Factually Challenged
    Preposterously Irrational Arguments
    Blindingly Obvious Logical Fallacies
    Absurd Misconstrual of Scientific Principles or Evidence
    Amazing Conspiracy Theory Bro
    Racist Ignoramus
Sometimes I think it’s a sin when I feel like I’m winnin’ when I’m losin’ again

Offline The Happy Friar

  • Opulent Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2088
    • View Profile
    • Fuzzy Logic Inc
  • Rated:
Re: r1q2 issue
« Reply #5 on: January 08, 2013, 07:14:30 PM »
I don't know, I haven't ran your config.

At worst I just delete the config file.  :)
  • Insightful
    Informative
    Funny
    Nice Job / Good Work
    Rock On
    Flawless Logic
    Well-Reasoned Argument and/or Conclusion
    Demonstrates Exceptional Knowlege of the Game
    Appears Not to Comprehend Game Fundamentals
    Frag of the Week
    Frag Hall of Fame
    Jump of the Week
    Jump Hall of Fame
    Best Solution
    Wins The Internet
    Whoosh! You done missed the joke thar Cletus!
    Obvious Troll Is Obvious
    DO YOU EVEN LIFT?
    DEMO OR STFU
    Offtopic
    Flamebait
    Redundant
    Factually Challenged
    Preposterously Irrational Arguments
    Blindingly Obvious Logical Fallacies
    Absurd Misconstrual of Scientific Principles or Evidence
    Amazing Conspiracy Theory Bro
    Racist Ignoramus
q2server.fuzzylogicinc.com
d3server.fuzzylogicinc.com
l33t hacz over yonder.  ;) :)

Offline QwazyWabbit

  • Carpal Tunnel Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 1232
    • View Profile
  • Rated:
Re: r1q2 issue
« Reply #6 on: January 09, 2013, 07:04:26 PM »
7904 was what I had. That said modified client.

Works fine now, not getting kicked and blocks don't appear when I run cfg.  :beer:


I did some more troubleshooting..

I updated r1q2 again,  is said mine was old (the just installed 7904), it said it was downloading 7904.
when I ran it it was build 8012 again, and did the same block thing.

I removed ALL paks from baseq2 except pak0 and pak1.
ran the game again, was stock text, conchars.pcx.
far as I could tell everything was stock again (shudders)

ran my cfg and the white blocks came back.

I try and find out what in the cfg is triggering it.  But something is screwed on r1q2 if its updating a b7904 to b7904 and actually loading b8012.
Maybe I need to update the updater :)

bbl


Thanks Derv

The 7904 to 7904 update message is a known bug. I am not sure if it's the updater sending the wrong version number or something in the data it fetched from the web server. I suspect it's a copy-paste bug in the text in the database on the web server since the updater wouldn't have any pre-knowlege about the version numbers. At any rate it gets the b8012 version and that binary is stamped with the correct version number.

 

El Box de Shoutamente

Last 10 Shouts:

 

Shogun

June 15, 2019, 08:10:43 PM
Whose Franlkin? Players aliasing this day in age. haha
 

quadz

June 10, 2019, 01:51:13 PM
More detailed look at Q2 RTX


https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=r9vXz9-C-AY
 

quadz

June 09, 2019, 07:47:06 PM

[BTF]Defiant!

June 08, 2019, 09:02:37 AM
Good video overview Quadz!
 

quadz

June 07, 2019, 03:08:21 PM
Reasonably informative Q2 Ray Tracing video:


https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sFhc951RhfI
 

Shogun

June 07, 2019, 12:03:42 PM
I don't have the golden ticket.
 

quadz

June 06, 2019, 03:19:00 PM
Yes, if you're fortunate to have one of the new RTX video cards. (I don't, so I'm watching people stream raytraced Q2 on twitch instead.)
 

Shogun

June 06, 2019, 12:33:55 PM
So I can make my q2 experience better looking with a download???
 

quadz

June 06, 2019, 10:43:00 AM
Raytraced Q2 download/install instructions:

https://steamdb.info/patchnotes/3889015/
 

Zeppelin

June 06, 2019, 02:33:46 AM
rikwad that was a good epitaph! very kind of you!

Show 50 latest
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
June 19, 2019, 11:54:59 AM

Login with username, password and session length